Press Release
to read

Jorge Garbajosa elected as new FIBA Europe President

MUNICH (Germany) - Jorge Garbajosa was elected as the new FIBA Europe President by the General Assembly of the member nations in Munich, Germany, on Saturday.

A former FIBA EuroBasket and FIBA Basketball World Cup winner with the Spanish national team and also President of the Spanish Basketball Federation, Mr. Garbajosa takes over from FIBA Europe Honorary President Turgay Demirel who served two terms in office from 2014-2019 and 2019-2023.

After receiving 35 of the 50 votes, Mr. Garbajosa was declared the winner over the only other candidate Jean-Pierre Siutat in the only round of voting.

"Firstly, I would like to thank President Turgay Demirel; having been on your team on the Board for the past seven years, you have been an inspiration for me ahead of the next four years. I also want to thank all of the 50 federations. It is important for us now to work together because we are better together. I will fight and work for the growth of basketball in Europe," said Mr. Garbajosa.

FIBA Secretary General Andreas Zagklis said: "President Hamane Niang and I would like to congratulate Jorge Garbajosa on being elected as the new President of FIBA Europe, as well as all of the members of the European Board. It is encouraging to have so many nations represented and the continued diversity of the Board as it reflects the importance of coming together and uniting for the benefit of the sport."

FIBA Executive Director Europe, Kamil Novak, added: "This is an exciting time for European basketball and we look forward to working with our new Board to ensure that progress continues to be made. I would like to thank everyone involved in this year's General Assembly and it is testament to the rewards of working together towards the same goal."

Grzegorz Bachanski (Poland) was elected as the new FIBA Europe Treasurer as the only other candidate, Gerald Martens (Austria) withdrew his candidacy shortly before the election.

The Assembly also elected 23 members of the Board including seven new members. They are as follows (in alphabetical order by Federation):

  • Stefan Garaleas (BEL)
  • Georgi Glushkov (BUL)
  • Athos Antoniou (CYP)
  • Michal Konecny (CZE)
  • Elisa Aguilar Lopez (ESP)
  • Keio Kuhi (EST)
  • Wolfgang Brenscheidt (GER)
  • John Goncalves (GIB)
  • Asterios Zois (GRE)
  • Ivan Bodrogvary (HUN)
  • Bernard O'Byrne (IRL)
  • Hannes Jonsson (ISL)
  • Amiram Halevy (ISR)
  • Maurizio Bertea (ITA)
  • Arben Fetahu (KOS)
  • Edgars Sneps (LAT)
  • Maarten Hoffer (NED)
  • Manuel Fernandes (POR)
  • Carmen Tocala (ROU)
  • Matej Erjavec (SLO)
  • Giancarlo Sergi (SUI)
  • Elisabeth Egnell (SWE)
  • Huseyin Besok (TUR)


About FIBA
FIBA (fiba.basketball) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 212 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognized as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

For further information about FIBA visit fiba.basketball or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fibatwitter.com/fibainstagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.