to read

FIBA in the Americas elects its new board for the 2023-2027 term

MIAMI (United States) – The Zone Assembly of FIBA in the Americas was held on Saturday 13 May in Miami, USA. Fabián Borro was elected as the new President of the Zone and Usie Richards was re-elected as Treasurer.

Fabián Borro, President of the Argentine Basketball Federation since 2019, becomes also a member of the FIBA Central Board for the 2023-2027 term of office.

“It is an honor to have been chosen by my peers in the Americas to represent the future of basketball in our region. We are going to continue the work of recent years to develop the sport throughout the continent. I’m very excited about this new challenge,” said newly elected President Fabián Borro.

“The Zone Assembly of FIBA in the Americas today allowed our members to reflect on the hard work during a 2019-2023 mandate full of challenges and achievements, as well as to plan ahead through the strategic pillars of FIBA’s global strategy. This continent is a mosaic of basketball cultures with long tradition and excellent potential that we are ready to further nurture, working as one team from the Regional Office and the Headquarters, in the service of our members throughout the Americas” said FIBA Secretary General Andreas Zagklis.

“We are honored to have Fabián Borro leading the Americas Zone for this new period (2023-2027). He joins the Americas as president of our regional office in a zone that has tremendous potential to create impact and grow,” said Carlos Alves FIBA Executive Director in the Americas.

The Zone Assembly was also attended by FIBA President Hamane Niang, FIBA First Vice-President Sheikh Saud Ali Al Thani and FIBA Treasurer Ingo Weiss, as well as FIBA Honorary President Horacio Muratore.

The outgoing president, Carol Callan, who served as the first female President of FIBA in the Americas during the 2019-2023 period, was recognised by the Assembly for her significant contributions to the Zone. She was presented with the Honarary FIBA Americas president title.

In addition to the election of Fabián Borro and Usie Richards, the Zone Assembly and the initial meeting of the Zone Board that followed have also confirmed the remaining members of the Zone Board for the 2023-2027 term of office: Jim Tooley, Michael Bartlett, Kim Bohuny, Andrea Travelstead (North America), Patrick Haynes, Sabrina Mitchell, Rafael Uribe, Modesto Robledo (Central America and Caribbean), Ricardo Vairo, Marcelo Souza, Iran Arcos, Hanthony Coello (South America) and Yum Ramos (member at-large).