Press Release
to read

EuroLeague Women and EuroCup Women draw seedings announced

MUNICH, Germany - FIBA Europe announced on Saturday the seedings for the EuroLeague Women and EuroCup Women draws, which are set to take place on Monday, 27 June 2016 at 11:30 CET in Freising, Germany.

Both draws can be followed live on the respective social media channels, with the EuroLeague Women draw to be streamed live on Facebook and Twitter, and the EuroCup Women draw to be streamed live on Twitter.

Following the withdrawal of Spanish club CB Conquero, 16 EuroLeague Women teams will be drawn directly into two Regular Season groups of eight teams each.  The clubs have been seeded based on the ranking of their performance in European club competitions in the last three seasons:

Seed 1

Seed 2

Seed 3

Seed 4

UMMC Ekaterinburg (RUS)


Dynamo Kursk (RUS)


Fenerbahce (TUR)

Nadezhda Orenburg (RUS)

Tango Bourges Basket (FRA)

Wisla Can-Pack (POL)

Seed 5

Seed 6

Seed 7

Seed 8

Famila Schio (ITA)

Uniqa Sopron (HUN)

Mersin Buyuksehir (TUR)

CMB Cargo Uni Gyor (HUN)

CB Avenida (ESP)


CCC Polkowice (POL)

Hatay Buyuksehir (TUR)

For EuroCup Women, a total of 40 clubs have registered and have been divided into two conferences, taking into account geographical proximity and the number of clubs registered per country.  

In Conference 1, 12 spots will be directly allocated, with the remaining four places for the Regular Season to be determined through Qualifiers. The Qualifiers will be played in a home-and-away format, with the higher ranked team (Seed 1) to play the return leg at home.

The seedings are based on the ranking of the clubs’ performance in European club competitions in the last three seasons.

Draw seedings for Conference 1 Qualifiers:

Seed 1

Seed 2

Istanbul Universitesi (TUR)

Piestanske Cajky (SVK)


Samsun Canik Belediye (TUR)

Chevakata Vologda (RUS)

VBW Cekk Cegled (HUN)

Enisey Krasnoyarsk Region (RUS) 


Draw seedings for Conference 1 Regular Season:

Seed 1

Seed 2

Seed 3

Seed 4

Galatasaray (TUR)

Aluinvent DVTK Miskolc (HUN)

Dynamo Novosibirsk Region (RUS)

Winner Qualifier 1

Sparta&K Moscow Region Vidnoje (RUS)

Maccabi Bnot Ashdod (ISR)

PBC MBA Moscow (RUS)

Winner Qualifier 2

AGU Spor (TUR)

PINKK Pecsi 424 (HUN)

Hoptrans Sirenos (LTU)

Winner Qualifier 3

Good Angels Kosice (SVK)

TTT Riga (LAT)

Olympiacos SFP (GRE)

Winner Qualifier 4

For Conference 2, the same criteria apply as for Conference 1, with 12 clubs being allocated a place in the Regular Season and the remaining eight teams participating in home-and-away Qualifiers. The teams from Seed 1 are the higher ranked teams based on the ranking of clubs and national federations in FIBA Europe club competitions, and therefore will play the Qualifiers return leg at home.

Draw seedings for Conference 2 Qualifiers:

Seed 1

Seed 2

Nantes Reze (FRA)

Amsterdam Angels (NED)

Flammes Carolo Basket (FRA)

Basket 90 Gdynia (POL)

Valosun KP Brno (CZE)   

RUTRONIK Stars Keltern (GER)

BCF Elfic Fribourg (SUI)  

Eisvogel USC Freiburg (GER)        

Draw seedings for Conference 2 Regular Season:

Seed 1

Seed 2

Seed 3

Seed 4

Mithra Castors Braine (BEL)

DSK Basketball Nymburk (CZE)

Lulea Basket (SWE)

Winner Qualifier 5

Basket Landes (FRA)

Umana Reyer Venezia (ITA)

Clube Uniao Sportiva (POR)

Winner Qualifier 6

Belfius Namur Capitale (BEL)

Udominate Basket (SWE)

Cavigal Nice Basket 06 (FRA)

Winner Qualifier 7

TSV 1880 Wasserburg (GER)

Spar Citylift Girona (ESP)

ASD Pol. Virtus Eirene Ragusa (ITA)

Winner Qualifier 8


About FIBA
FIBA (fiba.com) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 215 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognised as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).
For further information about FIBA visit fiba.com or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fiba, twitter.com/fibainstagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.