Draw for EuroBasket Women 2015
to read

Draw completed for EuroBasket Women 2015

BUDAPEST (EuroBasket Women 2015) - The draw for EuroBasket Women 2015 took place on Saturday in Budapest, Hungary, which will play host to the Final Round next summer.

In front of a sizeable crowd of national federation representatives, coaches, media representatives and invited guests from across Europe, the 20 teams were drawn into four First Round groups which will be played in the Romanian cities of Oradea and Timisoara, and the Hungarian cities of Sopron and Szombathely.

"I am excited to see our friends from Hungary and Romania work together to host this event," said FIBA Europe President Turgay Demirel who spoke prior to the draw, making note of the fact that it is the first time that the tournament will have two host nations.

He also reminded the guests of the significance of EuroBasket Women, citing it as the strongest continental women's championship in the world, evidenced by the strength of European teams at the recent FIBA Basketball World Championship for Women, which was hosted by his native country, Turkey.

Defending champions Spain have been drawn in Group D which will be played in Sopron, along with co-hosts Hungary. Completing the group are the Slovak Republic, Lithuania and one of the real surprises of EuroBasket Women 2013, Sweden.

In Group A, 2013 hosts and silver medalists France will take on 2015 co-hosts Romania in Timisoara, along with Ukraine, the Czech Republic and Montenegro.

2014 FIBA World Championship for Women hosts Turkey highlight Group B in Oradea, alongside Italy, Greece, Poland and Belarus.

Group C, in Szombathely, offers a number of interesting match-ups with Serbia set to take on neighbours Croatia, while it will be the same neighbour rivalry for Russia and Latvia. Completing the group is Great Britain.

Following the First Round, the top three teams from each group will advance to the Second Round, which will be played in the Hungarian cities of Debrecen and Gyor.

From there, the top eight teams will advance to the Final Round in Budapest.

EuroBasket Women 2015 will take place from 11 to 28 June.

EuroBasket Women 2015 First Round groups
Group A: France; Czech Republic; Ukraine; Montenegro; Romania
Group B: Turkey; Belarus; Poland; Italy; Greece
Group C: Serbia; Croatia; Latvia; Russia; Great Britain
Group D: Spain; Slovak Republic; Lithuania; Sweden; Hungary