16 July, 2014
03 October, 2015
Angola (ANG)
to read

Anticipation building ahead of Saturday's draw for AfroBasket Women 2015

ABIDJAN (AfroBasket Women 2015) - The official draw for AfroBasket Women 2015 will take place at 16:00 GMT (18:00 CET) on Saturday 9 May at the Congress Palace (Palais des Congres) in Cameroon's capital city of Yaounde.

The championship, staged every two years, is the region's flagship women's competition.

AfroBasket Women 2015 will be held from 24 September-3 October in Yaounde and serves as a qualifying event for the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

It is the first time that Cameroon is hosting the event.

To date, nine of the 12 teams that will compete at AfroBasket Women 2015 are known. They are: Cameroon (host), Angola (defending champions), Mozambique, South Africa, Senegal, Mali, Gabon, Algeria and Uganda.

Two more teams will book their spots through remaining qualifiers (in Zones II and III), with the final place to be attributed through a system of wild cards.