2016 Class of FIBA Hall of Fame inducted
Hall of Fame
to read

2016 Class of FIBA Hall of Fame inducted

MIES (2016 FIBA Hall of Fame) - The 2016 Class of the FIBA Hall of Fame was inducted on Saturday night at the House of Basketball, FIBA's headquarters on the outskirts of Geneva.

Seven world class basketball personalities were enshrined in a ceremony held in the Naismith Arena, FIBA's exhibition space named after the inventor of basketball.

The 2016 Class of the FIBA Hall of Fame consists of:

Panagiotis Fasoulas (Greece)
Hakeem Olajuwon (Nigeria/USA)
Manuel Raga (Mexico)
Juan Antonio San Epifanio (Spain)
Michele Timms (Australia)

Jorge Hugo Canavesi (Argentina)

David J. Stern (USA)

FIBA President Horacio Muratore said: "We are very proud to welcome all of these great basketball personalities into FIBA's Hall of Fame. Their contributions on and off the court have helped impact our sport in the most positive way imaginable. Through their achievements, dedication and countless efforts, they have also assisted basketball’s growth across the globe. Congratulations to them all for receiving this well-deserved honour."


About the FIBA Hall of Fame
The primary goal of the FIBA Hall of Fame (fiba.com/hall-of-fame) is to reflect the history of the sport and its personalities. The key criterion for selection into the FIBA Hall of Fame is outstanding achievement at the international level and contribution to the development of basketball.
The FIBA Hall of Fame was officially inaugurated on 1 March 2007.

About FIBA
FIBA (fiba.com) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 215 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognised as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).
For further information about FIBA visit fiba.com or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fiba, twitter.com/fibainstagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba