30 September
04 December, 2022
to read

Liga Sudamericana returns with 16 teams, will be played from September to December

MIAMI (United States) – The FIBA Americas Regional office announced that the 2022 edition of Liga Sudamericana will be played from September 30 to December 4. The participating 16 teams will be divided into four groups of four teams per group.

Group A will be played in the city of Barranquilla, Colombia, from September 30 to October 2, with the participation of Titanes de Barranquilla (Colombia), Club San Martín (Argentina), Liga Sorocabana De Basquete (Brazil) and Punto Rojo (Ecuador).

Group B will take place in Oberá, Argentina, from October 7 to 9, with the clubs Oberá Tenis (Argentina), Regatas Corrientes (Argentina), Baurú (Brazil) and Pichincha (Bolivia).

Group C will be hosted in Buenos Aires, Argentina, from October 13 to 15, with Boca Juniors (Argentina), Aguada (Uruguay), Club Atlético Olimpia (Uruguay) and Leones de Quilpué (Chile).

Finally, Group D will be played in Campina Grande, Brazil, from October 21 to 23, with Unifacisa (Brazil), Tigrillos de Medellín (Colombia), São Paulo Futebol Clube (Brazil) and Deportivo San José (Paraguay).

The top two teams in each group will advance to the Quarterfinals scheduled to be played from November 29 to December 1. There the clubs will be accommodated in a pairing key based on their Group Phase record.

The four best teams from the Quarterfinals will qualify for the Final 4, which will be played on December 3 and 4.

This will be the 25th edition of the Liga Sudamericana de Baloncesto, the most important club tournament in South America and the second on the continent, after the Basketball Champions League Americas. The prestigious tournament will be played again after two years of absence, due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Brazilian club Botafogo was the last Liga Sudamericana Champion crowned in 2019.