21 - 24
September 2023
to read

David Jackson named MVP of FIBA Intercontinental Cup Singapore 2023

SINGAPORE (Singapore) - Age is just a number. The Most Valuable Player of the FIBA Intercontinental Cup 2023 Singapore is David Jackson, the 41-year-old guard who led Sesi Franca Basquete to the top of the world.

He was already a legend in Brazil, winning the NBB League MVP award nine years ago, picking up two Best Foreign Player awards over there, and winning the Brazilian League back-to-back titles with Sesi Franca Basquete in 2022 and 2023.

Jackson played his role en route to the Basketball Champions League Americas crown earlier this year, and now he wins the biggest individual award of his career, after leading Franca to the biggest club trophy in their history.

David Jackson averaged 17.0 points, shot 53.8 percent from three-point range on four attempts per game, dished out 5.7 assists and grabbed 4.3 rebounds with 1.7 steals per contest in the Singapore Indoor Stadium.

He already talked about the individual stats and the many leaders of coach Helinho Rubens' squad.

"We share the ball, we wanna see our teammates do good. The extra passes are a big staple in the way we play," the MVP said back on day one of competition, when he also won the Rigorer Player of the Game award against Al Ahly.

"Everybody holds everybody accountable. We know what we are capable of, each player wants to do their best, we know that we need everybody to compete in this tournament."

It was perhaps best evident after the championship winning buzzer beater in the Final. Lucas Dias made the shot, Jackson was in tears, the Franca fans were going crazy in the stands.

When Jackson's name was called to receive the MVP of the FIBA Intercontinental Cup award, it was Dias who was the first one to congratulate him, leading the "MVP! MVP!" chants which were then picked up by the Brazilians in the tribunes.

"Fans that traveled here know that we love them, we really appreciate them, they always show us support and continue bringing us energy on the court," Jackson said.

This is the third time a player from a Brazilian team has won the MVP award. Back in 2014, Nico Laprovittola led Flamengo to the trophy, and Luke Martinez did the same in 2022.

There were two other editions with Brazilian MVPs on international teams. Marcelinho Huertas and Vitor Benite were named MVP in 2020 and 2021, leading Lenovo Tenerife and Hereda San Pablo Burgos to the top, respectively.