11 - 13
February 2022
to read

Defending champs Burgos hope to reign again from Spain

BURGOS (Spain) - Hereda San Pablo Burgos have enjoyed their fair share of success in recent seasons with a spate of silverware accrued in international competitions.

It was a little less than 12 months ago when the Spanish club celebrated their maiden FIBA Intercontinental Cup triumph with victory over Quimsa on foreign soil in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Vitor Benite starred as MVP and the Brazilian will be back to lead the charge once more for the two-time defending Basketball Champions League winners.

The 31-year-old was also Finals MVP in last season's BCL having played a key role in his side's run to a second successive title. Benite top scored with 15 points in the 64-59 victory over Pinar Karsiyaka having also battled past Hapoel Holon and SIG Strasbourg in the Final Eight.

Burgos are on the verge of making it through to the Round of 16 in this season's BCL as they continue their meteoric rise. The club was founded in 1994 and turned professional in 2015 before reaching the top-flight ACB just two years later.

Another two years followed and they made their European debut in the Basketball Champions League; navigating through the Qualifying Rounds to embark on a memorable run all the way to the Final where they would beat AEK Athens, in the Greek capital, for a stunning triumph.

Burgos went back-to-back and now have the chance to emulate two fellow Spanish sides in ICC history; they can join Iberostar Tenerife on two titles following their successes in 2017 and 2020, whilst also becoming the first team to defend their crown since Real Madrid achieved the feat in 1978, as part of a three-peat.

Should they succeed, Burgos would also be the first team to win back-to-back editions under different competition formats.

Five of the seven winners since the revival of the competition in 2013 have been teams from Europe with Flamengo (BRA) and Guaros de Lava (VEN) the two exceptions from the Americas.

The 2022 edition of the event is already making history as it takes place in Africa for the first time with the Egyptian capital hosting the four contenders.