20 September, 2018
01 May, 2019
13 Jean Salumu (SAKA)
to read

Last three teams arrive from Basketball Champions League; number of 'lucky loser' spots confirmed

MUNICH (FIBA Europe Cup) - The third and final block of teams from the Basketball Champions League joined the FIBA Europe Cup, with three more clubs merging into the Regular Season after the conclusion of Qualification Round 3.

Spirou Charleroi (BEL), Pardubice (CZE) and Sakarya BSB (TUR) will be placed directly into the 32-team Group Phase in accordance with the results of the draw. All three teams came one step short of qualifying for the third season of the Basketball Champions League.

Spirou and Pardubice both have past FIBA Europe Cup experience, while Turkish newcomers Sakarya are embarking on the club's maiden European campaign and have no previous international history.

The trio brought the total number of teams transferring from the Basketball Champions League Qualifiers to the FIBA Europe Cup Regular Season to 15, with a dozen joining after the conclusion of previous qualification rounds.

Three of the 18 spots reserved for potential transferees were not filled due to Telenet Giants Antwerp, Nizhny Novgorod and medi Bayreuth qualifying for the  Basketball Champions League Regular Season. The extra vacancies will therefore be filled by the best-placed losing teams from the FIBA Europe Cup Qualification Round 2. They will be ranked according to the FIBA Europe Cup Regulations.

The complete 32-team Regular Season will be finalized after the completion of the FIBA Europe Cup Qualifiers on October 10.