19 September, 2017
02 May, 2018
Official Draw of the 2017 FIBA Europe Cup
Press Release
to read

27 teams register for 2018/19 FIBA Europe Cup

MUNICH (FIBA Europe Cup) – 27 clubs have registered to play in the fourth edition of the FIBA Europe Cup, with up to another 18 joining from the Basketball Champions League Qualifiers.

FIBA announced the clubs prior to the FIBA Europe Cup Draw, which will take place in Munich on July 31.

Of the 27 clubs, six earn direct entry to the FIBA Europe Cup Regular Season (the seedings are based on country and club ranking). Those six clubs are:

Varese (ITA)                                                        
Belfius Mons-Hainaut (BEL)                               
Pinar Karsiyaka (TUR)                                                 
s.Oliver Wurzburg (GER)                                         
Falco Vulcano Szombathely (HUN)                        
CSM Steaua Bucharest (ROU)                                 

For 10 other clubs, the journey to the FIBA Europe Cup Regular Season begins in the Qualifiers Round 1. These 10 clubs consist of five seeded and five non-seeded teams. The non-seeded teams are:

Kongsberg Miners (NOR)                                          
Svitavy (CZE)                                                                
Lavrio BC (GRE)                                                            
Kataja Basket (FIN)                                                   
Ironi Ness Ziona (ISR)

The seeded teams are:

Rosa Radom (POL)                                                     
BC Dnipro (UKR)                                                          
Istanbul BBSK (TUR)                                                  
Sodertalje Kings (SWE)                                                               
Cherkaski Mavpy (UKR)          

At the FIBA Europe Cup Draw, each of the seeded teams will be drawn to play a non-seeded team. They will then compete in a home-and-away format September 20 and September 26. The seeded team will play the return leg at home.

The five winners will then move onto the FIBA Europe Cup Qualifiers Round 2. They will join, on the non-seeded side of the Draw:

New Heroes Den Bosch (NED)                             
ece Bulls Kapfenberg (AUT)                                     
SL Benfica (POR)                                                       

The remaining eight registered teams, find themselves as the seeded teams in the Qualifiers Round 2 Draw. They are:

Rilski Sportist (BUL)                                              
Keravnos (CYP)                                                           
Alba Fehervar (HUN)                                                   
Dinamo Sassari (ITA)                                               
ZZ Leiden (NED)                                                           
BC Balkan (BUL)                                                            
U-BT Cluj-Napoca (ROU)                                           
BC Lulea (SWE)   

Similar to the Qualifiers Round 1, a seeded team will be drawn to play against a non-seeded team. Once more following a home-and-away format, the legs will take place on October 3 and October 10. The seeded team will play the return leg at home.

The eight winning teams will then join the six clubs already directly qualified into the Regular Season, as well up to 18 teams from the Basketball Champions League Qualifiers. Should the 18 spots not be completely filled by Basketball Champions League teams, then the Qualifiers Round 2 teams will be ranked, and will fill the empty spots.


About FIBA
FIBA (fiba.basketball) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 213 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognized as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

For further information about FIBA visit fiba.basketball or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fibatwitter.com/fibainstagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.