26 September, 2016
30 April, 2017
Official Draw of the 2017 FIBA Europe Cup
Press Release
to read

Draw results in for 2016-17 FIBA Europe Cup season

FREISING, Germany (FIBA Europe Cup) - The official draw ceremony for the 2016-17 FIBA Europe Cup season took place on Friday in Freising, Germany.

40 teams will compete in the Regular Season, which begins on 19 October, with 21 of these 40 teams already known prior to the Draw.

Of the remaining 19 teams to compete in the Regular Season, 17 will join from the Basketball Champions League Qualification Round, which commences on 27 September.

The final two teams will come from the FIBA Europe Cup Qualifiers. Following the withdrawal of BC Lietkabelis (LTU), standby BC Mures (ROU) were assigned their spot in the Qualifiers.

In a home-and-away series, Egis Kormend (HUN) play Sopron KC (HUN) and Demir Insaat Buyukcekmece (TUR) take on BC Mures (ROU). These qualification games will be played on 28 September, with the return leg on 5 October.

The Regular Season teams were drawn in two geographical conferences, split into 10 Regular Season groups, consisting of four teams each.

To view the Regular Season groups, please click here, or see below.

Conference 1

Group A: Loser QR1 1 Bakken (DEN)/Sassari (ITA); Loser QR2 2 Benfica (POR)/Varese (ITA) vs. Szolnoki (HUN); Alba Fehervar (HUN); Elan Chalon (FRA)

Group B: Loser QR1 4 Donar (NED)/Tartu (EST); Winner Kormend (HUN)/Sopron (HUN); Hubo Limburg United (BEL); BCM Gravelines Dunkerque (FRA)

Group C: Loser QR1 2 Porto (POR)/Juventus (LTU); Loser QR2 3 Kataja (FIN)/Sodertalje (SWE) vs. Spirou (BEL); Belfius Mons Hainaut (BEL); Telekom Baskets Bonn (GER)

Group D: Loser QR1 3 Benfica (POR)/Varese (ITA); Loser QR2 1 MHP (GER) vs. Porto (POR)/Juventus (LTU); PO Antwerp Giants (BEL); Nanterre 92 (FRA)

Group E: Loser QR1 5 Kataja (FIN)/Sodertalje (SWE); Loser QR2 4 Donar (NED)/Tartu (EST) vs. Bakken (DEN)/Sassari (ITA); Redwell-Gunners Oberwart (AUT); Elan Bearnais Pau-Lacq Orthez (FRA)

Conference 2

Group F: Loser QR2 3 Lukoil (BUL) vs. Oradea (ROU)/Prievidza (SVK); Loser QR1 3 Oradea (ROU)/Prievidza (SVK); Steaua CSM Bucharest (ROU); Bnei Herzliya (ISR)

Group G: Loser QR2 1 Usak (TUR) vs. AEK (CYP)/Cluj (ROU); Loser QR1 4 AEK (CYP)/Cluj (ROU); Gaziantep Basketbol (TUR); KB Peja (KOS)

Group H: Winner Demir Insaat (TUR)/BC Mures (ROU); Loser QR1 1 Rilski (BUL)/Tsmoki (BLR); Enisey Krasnoyarsk (RUS); KB Sigal Prishtina (KOS)

Group I: Loser QR2 4 Igokea (BIH)/Mornar (MNE) vs. Besiktas (TUR); Loser QR1 2 Igokea (BIH)/Mornar (MNE); BSC Prienai (LTU); TLU/Kalev Tallinn (EST)

Group J: Apoel Nicosia (CYP); Loser QR2 2 Rilski (BUL)/Tsmoki (BLR) vs. Nahariya (ISR); BC Siauliai (LTU); BK JIP Pardubice (CZE)

Of the 40 Regular Season teams, the 10 group winners and second-placed teams, plus the best four third-placed clubs (two from each conference) will qualify for the Second Round, which will consist of six groups.

Following the Second Round, the six group winners plus the two best second-placed teams in each group will qualify for the Round of 16 Play-Offs together with eight clubs coming from the Basketball Champions League.

From the Round of 16 onwards, the FIBA Europe Cup becomes direct knock-out, with the winner of each home-and-away series advancing to the next round.

For more coverage on the FIBA Europe Cup, please follow the official website as well as the official FIBA Europe Cup social media accounts on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.