29 July, 2023
06 August
to read

All you need to know: FIBA U20 Women's European Championship 2023

KLAIPEDA & VILNIUS (Lithuania) - The FIBA U20 Women's European Championship is one of 16 youth events that will take place across the summer of 2023.

The tournament will take place in the cities of Klaipeda and Vilnius, Lithuania from July 29-August 6, 2023.

Who is participating?

A total of 16 teams will compete for the title in Division A. They have been split into four groups of four for the Group Phase as follows:

Group A: Portugal, Israel, Serbia, Czech Republic
Group B: Lithuania, Finland, France, Hungary
Group C: Sweden, Montenegro, Spain, Poland
Group D: Latvia, Turkey, Italy, Belgium

What is the schedule?

The Group Phase will take place across the opening two days of the tournament before a rest day on July 31 and concludes on August 1, with teams seeded for the Round of 16 stage based on their group position. The competition will continue in the form of the bracket until the Final on August 6 with Classification Games also determining each of the 16 positions.

Check out the full schedule here.

Who were the winners in 2022?

Spain claimed a 47-42 win over Czech Republic in the Final in 2022 in Sopron, Hungary. Txell Alarcon led the victors with 16 points, while Noa Maria Diju pulled down 14 rebounds for the victors.


Montenegro, Turkey and Israel will participate in this year's edition after they were promoted from Division B to take the place of the relegated trio of Netherlands, Bulgaria and Ireland.

Former MVPs

Claudia Contell was named MVP in 2022 and finished the tournament with 10.4 points, 3.6 rebounds, 3.1 steals and 1.9 assists per game.

The previous five winners of the tournament's MVP are as follows:

2022: Claudia Contell (ESP)
2019: Sara Madera (ITA)
2018: Iris Mbulito (ESP)
2017: Maria Araujo (ESP)
2016: Cecilia Zandalasini (ITA)

Roll of honor

Spain racked up their ninth tournament victory at the event in 2022, which was also their 12th overall medal in the competition's history. Since 2011, they have won eight of the 10 tournaments with 2019 the only time they failed to make it onto the podium when Italy took the gold.

Russia and France have also reached double figures in the medals count with France last winning the tournament in 2014 to add to their 2005 and 2009 titles.

Position Team 🥇 🥈 🥉 Total
1. Spain 9 3 0 12
2. Russia 5 4 2 11
3. France 3 3 4 10

The full list of medalists can be found here.

How to watch?

All the action will be available to watch live on the FIBA YouTube channel - and can also be accessed via the respective game pages on the website.

Want more action?

The best way to keep up to date for all of the action is via the official tournament website as well as following NextGenHoops across social media - on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Don't forget to check out the action from the FIBA U20 Women's European Championship 2023, Division B tournament.