28 July, 2023
06 August
to read

All you need to know: FIBA U20 Women's European Championship 2023, Division B

CRAIOVA (Romania) - The FIBA U20 Women's European Championship Division B is one of 16 youth events that will take place across the summer of 2023.

The tournament will take place in Craiova, Romania from July 28-August 5, 2023.

Who is participating?

A total of 17 teams will compete for the title in Division B. They have been split into four groups with three groups of four and one group of five. The Group Phase is as follows:

Group A: Germany, Ukraine, Great Britain, Switzerland
Group B: Romania, Greece, Ireland, Georgia
Group C: Netherlands, Croatia, Slovenia, Kosovo
Group D: Bulgaria, Iceland, Slovakia, Norway, Austria

What is the schedule?

The Group Phase will take place across the first six days of the tournament with a rest day on July 31. Classification games will begin on August 3 before the Quarter-Finals then tip off on August 4. The competition will continue in the form of the bracket until the Final on August 5, with the Classification games also determining each of the 17 positions.

Check out the full schedule here.

Who were the winners in 2022?

Montenegro powered their way past Turkey 98-56 to win the title in last year's edition. Jovana Savkovic scored a team-high 17 points in 19 minutes and converted 5-of-6 three-pointers. Zorana Radonjic and Maja Bigovic combined for 28 points and 14 rebounds for the winners, while Turkey had three players in double figures.


The three medalists listed above were promoted to Division A, so the relegated trio of Netherlands, Bulgaria and Ireland will take their places and participate in this year's edition.

Former MVPs

Marija Lekovic was awarded the MVP in 2022 after averaging 14.6 points, 4.4 assists, 3.3 rebounds and 2.3 steals per game. The talented teenager went on to represent her nation at the FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2023.

The previous five winners are as follows:

2022: Marija Lekovic (MNE)
2019: Lotta Vehka-Aho (FIN)
2018: Veronika Vorackova (CZE)
2017: Satou Sabally (GER)
2016: Annamaria Prezelj (SLO)

Roll of honor

Germany and Sweden are the only nations to have lifted the Division B title on more than one occasion having both triumphed twice.

They are joined at the top of the medals list by Greece and Czech Republic, who have each won the full set of gold, silver and bronze. Inaugural winners Israel added to their title win of 2005 with a third place finish in last year's tournament to earn promotion.

Position Team 🥇 🥈 🥉 Total
1. Germany 2 1 0 3
2. Sweden 2 0 1 3
3. Greece 1 1 1 3
= Czech Republic 1 1 1 3

The full list of medalists can be found here.

How to watch?

All the action will be available to watch live on the FIBA YouTube channel - and can also be accessed via the respective game pages on the website.

Want more action?

The best way to keep up to date for all of the action is via the official tournament website as well as following NextGenHoops across social media - on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Don't forget to check out the action from the FIBA U20 Women's European Championship tournament.