07 - 16
July 2023
to read

All you need to know: FIBA U20 European Championship 2023, Division B

SKOPJE (North Macedonia) - The FIBA U20 European Championship, Division B is one of 16 youth events that will take place across the summer of 2023.

The tournament will take place in Skopje, North Macedonia from July 7-16, 2023.

Who is participating?

A total of 20 teams will compete for the title in Division B. They have been split into four groups of five. The Group Phase is as follows:

Group A: Slovakia, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, North Macedonia, Ireland
Group B: Luxembourg, Great Britain, Portugal, Hungary, Austria
Group C: Kosovo, Sweden, Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbaijan
Group D: Albania, Finland, Latvia, Netherlands, Switzerland

What is the schedule?

The Group Phase will take place across the first seven days of the tournament with two rest days on July 10 and July 13. Classification games and the Quarter-Finals (in the form of a bracket) will begin on July 14, followed by the Semi-Finals on July 15. The Final will take place on July 16, with the Classification games also determining each of the 20 positions.

Check out the full schedule here.

Who were the winners in 2022?

Serbia claimed the top spot in the 2022 edition after defeating Iceland 81-67 in the Final in Tbilisi, Georgia. Luka Paunovic stuffed the stat sheet for the victors, finishing with 17 points, 11 rebounds, 5 assists, 4 steals and 2 blocks, while Thorvaldur Arnason led the way for Iceland in defeat with 19 points, 4 assists and 3 rebounds.


Portugal, Czech Republic and Ukraine, who were the three teams relegated from Division A, will join the Division B tournament in 2023 in place of the promoted trio of medalists listed above.

Former MVPs

Forward Mihailo Boskovic earned MVP honors in 2022 with averages of 12.3 points, 6.6 rebounds, 2.1 assists, 1.4 steals and 1.1 blocks. He also shot 54 percent from the field across seven games played.

The previous five winners of the tournament's MVP are as follows:

2022: Mihailo Boskovic (SRB)
2019: Rafael Lisboa (POR)
2018: Lukasz Kolenda (POL)
2017: Emanuel Cate (ROU)
2016: Vasilis Charalampopoulos (GRE)

Roll of honor

Serbia won their first title and first-ever medal at Division B level last year.

The most successful sides are Poland, Montenegro and Georgia who are all two-time champs, while Poland also has the most total medals at the event (five), followed by Czech Republic, who have reached the podium four times.

Position Team 🥇 🥈 🥉 Total
1. Poland 2 0 3 5
2. Montenegro 2 0 0 2
3. Georgia 2 0 0 2

The full list of medalists can be found here.

How to watch?

All the action will be available to watch live on the FIBA YouTube channel - and can also be accessed via the respective game pages on the website.

Want more action?

The best way to keep up to date for all of the action is via the official tournament website as well as following NextGenHoops across social media - on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Don't forget to also check out the action from the FIBA U20 European Championship 2023 tournament.