29 July, 2023
06 August
Anar Sariyev (AZE), Tahir Bakhshiyev (AZE), 44 Said Ismayilov (AZE), 28 Huseyin Asgarli (AZE), 27 Varid Aghasizada (AZE), 25 Ismayil Abdulla (AZE), 20 Ali Hasanov (AZE), 18 Roderick Boyd Anderson Iii (AZE), 17 Azar Azimov (AZE), 10 Huseyn Gasimov (AZE), 9 Rashid Abbasov (AZE), 8 Nijat Nasirov (AZE), 7 Alishan Mikayilzade (AZE), 3 Tariel Yusifzada (AZE)
to read

All you need to know: FIBA U18 European Championship 2023, Division C

BAKU (Azerbaijan) - The FIBA U18 European Championship, Division C is one of 16 youth events that will take place across the summer of 2023.

The tournament will take place in Baku, Azerbaijan from July 29-August 6, 2023.

Who is participating?

A total of nine teams will compete for the title in Division C. They have been split into two groups with one group of five and one group of four. The Group Phase is as follows.

Group A: Malta, Cyprus, Moldova, Azerbaijan
Group B: Andorra, Luxembourg, San Marino, Monaco, Gibraltar

What is the schedule?

The Group Phase will take place across the first six days of the tournament with a rest day on August 1 before the Classification games begin on August 4. The competition will continue in the form of the bracket beginning with the Semi-Finals, until the Final on August 6, with the Classification games also determining each of the nine positions.

Check out the full schedule here.

Who were the winners in 2022?

Albania captured the title after defeating Monaco 93-78 in the Final in Serravalle, San Marino. There were big performances by players on both teams, as Enzo Zotaj led the charge for Albania, amassing 41 points along with 8 rebounds and 3 assists, while teammates Aleksis Nika recorded a double-double of 22 points and 12 rebounds and Kelt Qilimi dished out 18 assists.

Monaco's Matis Moncada scored a team-high 27 points in defeat, while Lucas N'Gombo put up a 21-point, 17-rebound double-double.


Albania were promoted to Division B this summer, so the relegated Cyprus will take their spot and participate in this year's edition of Division C.

Former MVPs

Lucas N'Gombo was named MVP after averaging 22.2 points, 12.2 rebounds and 1.7 steals per game. He also shot 54.9 percent from the field.

The previous five winners are as follows:

2022: Lucas N'Gombo (MON)
2019: Jordan Ratton (MON)
2018: Rron Ukaj (KOS)
2017: Kurt Cassar (MLT)
2016: Endar Poladkhanli (AZE)

Roll of honor

Albania claimed their second gold medal in the history of the competition in 2022, becoming the third country to win the title twice alongside Andorra and Cyprus.

Position Team 🥇 🥈 🥉 Total
1. Andorra 2 2 4 8
2. Cyprus 2 2 1 5
3. Albania 2 0 1 3

The full list of medalists can be found here.

How to watch?

All the action will be available to watch live on the FIBA YouTube channel - and can also be accessed via the respective game pages on the website.

Want more action?

The best way to keep up to date for all of the action is via the official tournament website as well as following NextGenHoops across social media - on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Don't forget to check out the action from the FIBA U18 European Championship 2023 and FIBA U18 European Championship 2023, Division B tournaments.