29 July, 2017
06 August
Press Release
to read

Draws completed for FIBA U18 European Championships 2017 Divisions A and B

MUNICH (FIBA U18 European Championship 2017) - The draws have been completed for the FIBA U18 European Championships 2017, Divisions A and B. 

The draw had originally been scheduled to take place on 10 December, but was delayed until Thursday afternoon in Munich, given the postponement of the FIBA U18 European Championship 2016 Division A, from late July to mid-December.

The seeding of the draws was based on the results of the FIBA U16 European Championships in 2015.

16 teams were drawn into four groups to contest the Group Phase of Division A, which will take place in Slovak Republic from 29 July to 6 August. 

The Division A Group Phase groups are as follows:

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Turkey  Spain  Lithuania Bosnia and Herzegovina
Germany Serbia  Finland France
Montenegro Italy  Greece Latvia
Russia Ukraine Slovenia Slovak Republic

Meanwhile, 24 teams will travel to Estonia to compete for the Division B title from 28 July to 6 August. The Group Phase of Division B will consist of four groups of six teams, with the top two teams from each group advancing to the Quarter-Finals.

The Division B Group Phase groups are as follows:

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Great Britain Croatia Israel Estonia
Sweden Georgia Poland Belgium
Netherlands  Bulgaria Portugal Denmark
 Czech Republic Hungary  Austria Switzerland 
 Luxembourg Iceland   Romania Ireland 
 Albania Belarus Azerbaijan MKD



About FIBA

FIBA (fiba.com) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 213 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognised as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).
For further information about FIBA visit fiba.com or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fiba, twitter.com/fibainstagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.