11 - 19
August 2023
to read

All you need to know: FIBA U16 Women's European Championship 2023

IZMIR (Turkey) - The FIBA U16 Women's European Championship is one of 16 youth events taking place across the summer of 2023.

The tournament will take place in Izmir, Turkey from August 11-19, 2023.

Who is participating?

A total of 16 teams will compete for the title in Division A. They have been split into four groups of four for the Group Phase as follows:

Group A: Czech Republic, Finland, Latvia, Portugal
Group B: France, Hungary, Serbia, Turkey
Group C: Croatia, Israel, Italy, Poland
Group D: Belgium, Greece, Slovenia, Spain

The top five teams will also qualify for the FIBA U17 Women's World Cup 2024, which will be held in Mexico.

What is the schedule?

The Group Phase will take place across the opening three days of the tournament with a rest day on August 14, as teams will be seeded for the Round of 16 stage based on their group position. The competition will continue in the form of the tournament bracket until the Final on August 19 with Classification games also determining each of the 16 positions.

Check out the full schedule here.

Who were the winners in 2022?

France won an overtime thriller in Matosinhos, Portugal last year as they completed a memorable 65-61 derby success over arch rivals Spain. Clemence Collin netted 15 points coming off the bench, while Nell Angloma finished with 14 points and 7 rebounds as France took the top podium spot for the first time in five edition.


Germany, Lithuania and Denmark were all relegated from last year's edition, so the promoted trio of Serbia, Turkey and Israel from Division B will take their spots.

Former MVPs

Iyana Martin headlined the All-Star Five last year after scoring 22 points in the Final and averaging a majestic 17.1 points, 3.9 assists, 3.0 steals and 2.1 boards per game.

The previous five winners are as follows:

2022: Iyana Martin (ESP)
2019: Anastasiia Kosu (RUS)
2018: Caterina Gilli (ITA)
2017: Iliana Rupert (FRA)
2016: Luisa Geiselsoder (GER)

Roll of honor

Spain are the only team to have reached double-digits in terms of titles and they are also the nation with the most podium finishes in competition history. However, they are currently on the longest trophy drought since they won their first in 1999. They last won the event back in Udine, Italy in 2016.

The Soviet Union still hold the record for the longest gold rush after winning the first six editions from 1976-1987.

Position Team 🥇 🥈 🥉 Total
1. Spain 10 3 3 16
2. Soviet Union 7 0 1 8
3. Russia 6 1 1 8

The full list of medalists can be found here.

How to watch?

All the action will be available to watch live on the FIBA YouTube channel - and can also be accessed via the respective game pages on the website.


Want more action?

The best way to keep up to date for all of the action is via the official tournament website as well as following NextGenHoops across social media - on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Don't forget to check out the action from the FIBA U16 European Championship 2023,Division B, as well as the FIBA U16 European Championship 2023, Division C which finishes in July.