04 - 12
August 2017


Bourges is the prefecture of the department of Cher. With 66,528 inhabitants, it is the most populated city in the department. In the center of an urban area of 135,000 inhabitants, Bourges is the third-most populated municipality in the region of Centre-Val de Loire, after Tours and Orleans.

It is also the historic capital of Berry, province of the Ancien Regime, corresponding approximately to the current departments of the Indre and Cher.

Its inhabitants are called Berruyers or Berruyeres.