04 - 13
August 2023
8 Luca Illes (ROU)
to read

All you need to know: FIBA U16 European Championship 2023, Division B

PITESTI (Romania) - The FIBA U16 European Championship, Division B is one of 16 youth events that will take place across the summer of 2023.

The tournament will take place in Pitesti, Romania  from August 4-13, 2023.

Who is participating?

A total of 21 teams will compete for the title in Division B. They have been split into four groups with three groups of five and one group of six. The Group Phase is as follows:

Group A: Georgia, Romania, Iceland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Austria
Group B: Hungary, Ukraine, Great Britain, Estonia, Norway
Group C: Switzerland, Czech Republic, Denmark, Croatia, Ireland, Luxembourg
Group D: Sweden, Portugal, Bulgaria, Netherlands, Slovakia

What is the schedule?

The Group Phase will take place across the first six days of the tournament with a rest day on August 7. After a second rest day on August 10,  classification games tip off on August 11 as will the competition bracket beginning with the Quarter-Finals, until the Final on August 13, with the classification games also determining each of the 21 positions.

Check out the full schedule here.

Who were the winners in 2022?

Germany were crowned champions in last year's tournament after defeating Finland 100-72 in the Final in Sofia. Declan Duru and Keenan Garner both scored 16 points and Christian Anderson added 15 points in the victory. Olavi Suutela tallied 18 points with 6 rebounds in a losing effort for Finland.


Meanwhile, the relegated trio from Division A - Croatia, Netherlands and Denmark - will take the place in this year's edition of the promoted trio of Germany, Finland and Belgium.

Former MVPs

Christian Anderson took home MVP honors in 2022 with averages of 16.5 points, 2.1 rebounds, 2.8 assists and 1.1 steals per game to join the long list of names as tournament MVP.

The previous five winners are as follows:

2022: Christian Anderson (GER)
2019: Jeremy Sochan (POL)
2018: Pavel Sakov (RUS)
2017: Nikos Rakovopoulos (GRE)
2016: Alexander Shashkov (RUS)

Roll of honor

Germany claimed their third title in the competition's history last year and third overall medal at the event. They are the only country with three Division B championships and became the sixth country to win at least three total medals.

Following Germany, the most successful sides are Poland, Czech Republic and Russia, who are all two-time champions. Poland, Montenegro, Denmark, Bulgaria and Slovenia all reached the podium three times as well.

Position Team 🥇 🥈 🥉 Total
1. Germany 3 0 0 3
2. Poland 2 1 0 3
3. Czech Republic 2 0 0 2
= Russia 2 0 0 2

The full list of medalists can be found here.

How to watch?

All the action will be available to watch live on the FIBA YouTube channel - and can also be accessed via the respective game pages on the website.

Want more action?

The best way to keep up to date for all of the action is via the official tournament website as well as following NextGenHoops across social media - on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Don't forget to check out the action from the FIBA U16 European Championship 2023 and FIBA U16 European Championship 2023, Division C tournaments.