20 September, 2023
14 April, 2024
Behind the scenes, Fenerbache
to read

Meesseman ties Taurasi, Torrens with record sixth title

MERSIN (Türkiye) - Having been crowned a champion again with Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding, Emma Meesseman is now a joint record-holder for the modern era with a stunning six EuroLeague Women titles. 

The Belgian ace has joined previous all-time leaders and megastars Diana Taurasi and Alba Torrens, as well as Natalia Vieru, who also have six on their resume. Meesseman won her first ever title in 2016 when playing alongside all three in the same UMMC Ekaterinburg team.

Meesseman was again central to Fenerbahce finishing on top, as they became the first Turkish club to win EuroLeague Women twice after their triumph against Villeneuve d'Ascq.

"They are great players to share that list with, but I hope I am not finished yet," smiled Meesseman. "I am first going to do everything I can to just enjoy this one first and then we will have to see what happens next year. I am not looking too much into the future around this right now."

The first four titles for Meesseman all came in UMMC colors as she collected winners' medals in 2016, 2018, 2019 and 2021, before delivering with Fenerbahce last year in Praha, and then again at this year's edition in Mersin,

It's certainly been another stellar campaign for Meesseman, having once again been the headline at the prestigious EuroLeague Women awards where she sealed consecutive MVP honors.

Players with most titles in modern-era EuroLeague Women

Position Player Titles Total
=1 Emma Meesseman (BEL) 2016, 2018, 2019, 2021- UMMC Ekaterinburg (RUS)
2023, 2024 - Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding (TUR)
=1 Diana Taurasi (USA) 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 - Sparta&K M.R Vidnoje (RUS)
2013, 2016 - UMMC Ekaterinburg (RUS)
=1 Alba Torrens (ESP) 2011 - Perfumerias Avenida (ESP)
2014 - Galatasaray (TUR)
2016, 2018, 2019, 2021- UMMC Ekaterinburg (RUS)
=1 Natalia Vieru (RUS) 2008, 2009, 2010 - Sparta&K M.R Vidnoje (RUS)
2016, 2018, 2019 - UMMC Ekaterinburg (RUS) 
=5 Sue Bird (USA) 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 - Sparta&K M.R Vidnoje (RUS)
2013 - UMMC Ekaterinburg (RUS)
=5 Irina Osipova (RUS) 2003 - UMMC Ekaterinburg (RUS)
2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 - Sparta&K M.R Vidnoje (RUS)