20 September, 2023
14 April, 2024
Press Release
to read

Meesseman named back-to-back MVP to lead EuroLeague Women Awards

MERSIN (Türkiye) - The winners of the EuroLeague Women Awards have been crowned in a special ceremony at the Final Four in Mersin with Emma Meesseman collecting her second MVP in a row. 

The prestigious event took place at Mersin State Opera and Ballet and was also live-streamed for fans on the EuroLeague Women YouTube channel.

The ceremony was attended by FIBA Europe President Jorge Garbajosa, FIBA Secretary General Andreas Zagklis, FIBA Executive Director Europe Kamil Novak, with FIBA Europe Vice President Carmen Tocala, FIBA Europe Board and Executive Committee member Huseyin Besok and Cukurova Region women's basketball ambassador Yildiz Pehlivan also presenting awards.

This year's event saw the introduction of the EuroLeague Women Legacy Award, with three-time EuroLeague Women champion Sonja Vasic crowned as the inaugural inductee.

The winners of the season awards were determined by combining the votes of EuroLeague Women coaches, team captains, selected media and also the fans.

Most Valuable Player: Emma Meesseman (Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding)

Having taken the award for 2023, Meesseman retains the honor after showing her quality again in a big way for Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding. She averaged a superb 17.7 points , 57.4 percent field goal percentage, 5.9 rebounds and 4.7 assists which have contributed to a performance efficiency valuation of 23.9.

"It's always special [to win an MVP award] but people who know me, all know it is not my goal," said Meesseman.

"It's a new season and you have to start over - so I really appreciate this one.

"This is also not going to change anything about going to this year's Final for me. We know Villeneuve and we know it is going be a hard game and most importantly, a beautiful game."

Meanwhile on attempting to equal the record of six titles jointly held by Diana Taurasi and Alba Torrens, she commented: "It's one of the best competitions in the world and every single title is special.

"What happened in the past is not important, although my biggest goal is always to win. I am just looking forward to trying to give a first title to some of my younger teammates."

The Belgian star held off ZVVZ USK Praha center Ezi Magbegor and Casademont Zaragoza leader Leonie Fiebich, who were named as Finalists. 

All-EuroLeague Women First Team

Marina Mabrey (Cukurova Basketbol Mersin)
Kayla McBride (Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding)
Leonie Fiebich (Casademont Zaragoza)
Emma Meesseman (Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding)
Ezi Magbegor (ZVVZ USK Praha)

Leading the All-EuroLeague Women First Team as MVP, Meesseman is joined in the line-up by her club colleague Kayla McBride whose sparkling form has been instrumental for the champions and especially during the first half of the campaign.

Having pushed Meesseman hard for MVP, both the versatile German wing Leonie Fiebich who inspired Casademont Zaragoza all season longs gets a slot - as does Ezi Magbegor who has been a towering presence in the frontcourt for ZVZ USK Praha. Meanwhile Marina Mabrey has provided lots for the highlights reel and put up sensational numbers with Cukurova Basketbol Mersin.

All-EuroLeague Women Second Team

Yvonne Anderson (Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding)
Kennedy Burke (Villeneuve d'Ascq LM)
Valeriane Ayayi (ZVVZ USK Praha)
Janelle Salaun (Villeneuve d'Ascq LM)
Elizabeth Williams (Cukurova Basketbol Mersin)

The backcourt of the All-EuroLeague Women Second Team includes two players who have massive defensive capabilities as well as shining offensively for their respective teams in the shape of Yvonne Anderson of Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding and Kennedy Burke of Villeneuve d'Ascq LM.

Valeriane Ayayi of ZVVZ USK Praha, Janelle Salaun of Villeneuve d'Ascq LM and Elizabeth Williams of Cukurova Basketbol Mersin make up the frontcourt selection in the Second Team.

Defensive Player of the Year: Yvonne Anderson (Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding)

The experience and quickness of Anderson was pivotal in her being named the Defensive Player of the Year, having excelled at both ends of the floor with Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding this season.

Second spot in the voting went to Ezi Magbegor of ZVVZ USK Praha, with Elizabeth Williams of Cukurova Basketbol Mersin taking third place. 

Young Player of the Year: Sika Kone (Perfumerias Avenida)

It was an outstanding debut season for Kone in the competition as the Mali national team forward went to work for Perfumerias Avenida. She was hugely important in helping them reach the Quarter-Finals, averaging more than 12.2 points and 7.1 boards per game. 

For the second year running, Elena Buenavida of Valencia Basket Club was only just beaten to top spot, with Ajsa Sivka (Beretta Famila Schio) taking third.

Coach of the Year: Rachid Meziane (Villeneuve d'Ascq LM)

It's been a fairytale ride for French play-caller Rachid Meziane after not only guiding Villeneuve d'Ascq LM to their first ever post-season place, but going one better and banking a maiden Final Four ticket too, where there was more history to be made.

Meziane fought off strong competition from Carlos Cantero Morales of Casademont Zaragoza and Peter Volgyi of DVTK HUN-Therm  who finished second and third respectively having also taken their clubs to historical accomplishments as well.

Best Play of the Season: Destiny Slocum (Serco UNI Gyor)

Determined exclusively by a fan voting, Slocum scooped the award for the best play of the season after showing her skills with Serco UNI Gyor in a matchup with Virtus Segafredo Bologna last October. 

Club Excellence Award: Casademont Zaragoza

It's been a fantastic first ever year in the competition for Casademont Zaragoza who added to their success by taking the brand new EuroLeague Women Club Excellence Award. The Spanish team brought huge and passionate crowds to the competition as they stormed their way to the Quarter-Finals. This prestigious award acknowledges the club's exceptional achievements, encompassing digital communications, fan engagement, and diverse operational facets within the EuroLeague Women's framework. The Finalists in this category include Basket Landes and Valencia Basket Club.


About EuroLeague Women
EuroLeague Women is the premier women's basketball competition in Europe, featuring the top 16 teams from the continent and the world's best players.

For further information about EuroLeague Women, visit EuroLeagueWomen.basketball or follow us on facebook.com/EuroLeagueWomentwitter.com/EuroLeagueWomeninstagram.com/EuroLeagueWomen, and youtube.com/FIBA.