11 October, 2022
16 April, 2023
30 Breanna Stewart (FENER)
to read

Stewart seals MVP honor after 35 point display

PRAGUE (Czech Republic) - There was a double celebration for Breanna Stewart as she added to the joy of Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding taking their maiden EuroLeague Women title by being crowned Final Four MVP. 

Having snapped up the same accolade at the 2021 edition, Stewart joins an exclusive club of players including the likes of legendary EuroLeague Women duo Diana Taurasi and Ann Wauters who have won the award more than once.

Stewart was confirmed as the MVP after her stunning and record-breaking performance took Fenerbahce to the silverware in their historic 99-60 triumph against CBK Mersin Yenisehir Bld. She had 35 points by the final buzzer, with 26 coming in the first half. 

Outstanding 48 hours earlier when seeing off Beretta Famila Schio and headlining the Semi-Finals Top Performers, Stewart averaged 29.5 points, 8.5 rebounds, 3.0 assists, 2.0 steals and 1.5 blocks per game across the weekend for a stellar performance efficiency valuation of 32.5.

It was the highest score by any player in a Final of the modern EuroLeague Women era, beating Diana Taurasi's previous high of 31 points set in 2009.

"Dee, if you want your record back you're going to have to come back to EuroLeague Women," joked Stewart.

"But was a team effort and I just happened to get hot. The most important thing was that we won and we are bringing the trophy back for the first time."

"One of the reasons I came to Fenerbahce was to win a EuroLeague Women title. It is something that is no easy feat. When we had the opportunity to come out in the championship game, I wanted to remind the team to keep going.That is what we did - we never stopped.

"We saved the best for last and that is the way that it should be," concluded Stewart.

EuroLeague Women Highest Individual Scores in a Final

Rank Player Team Year Points
1 Breanna Stewart Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding 2023 35
2 Diana Taurasi Sparta&K M.R. Vidnoje 2009 31
=3 Diana Taurasi Sparta&K M.R Vidnoje 2010 29
=3 Tiffany Hayes Perfumerias Avenida 2021 29
=5 Candace Parker UMMC Ekaterinburg 2015 27
=5 Natalia Svisceva SCP Ruzomberok 2000 27