11 October, 2022
16 April, 2023
to read

First fan voting returns revealed for EuroLeague Women Awards

MUNICH (Germany) - The EuroLeague Women Awards first returns in the fan voting shows a quartet of Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding stars as early frontrunners for the Team of the Season.

Alina Iagupova, Kayla McBride, Emma Meesseman and Breanna Stewart are the top overall vote-getters with less than a week to go until it closes, the first duo top of the backcourt poll, with Meesseman  and Stewart ahead in the frontcourt selections.

The MVP race sees Stewart out in front with 24 percent of the votes, with Meesseman and Iagupova on 16 and 12 percent respectively.

Fenerbahce representatives Alina Iagupova and Marina Maljkovic also lead the Defensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year ballots, with Valencia Basket Club's Elena Buenavida and Pauline Astier of Tango Bourges Basket engaged in a close race in the Young Player of the Year category.

The leading players and coaches in the competition will be recognized for their performances across the Regular Season and Quarter-Finals, with the winners of the awards decided by combining the fan voting with the ballots of the EuroLeague Women coaches, team captains as well as selected media.

For all of the categories, the current situation after the first fan returns shows that every single vote will be vital before the poll closes at 12:00 PM CET on Monday, April 3, with multiple players capable of challenging the current leaders.

Team of the Season


1. Alina Iagupova (Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding) 19%
2. Kayla McBride (Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding) 18%
3. Maite Cazorla (Perfumerias Avenida) 6%
4. Queralt Casas (Valencia Basket Club) 6%
5. Yvonne Anderson (Tango Bourges Basket) 6% 
6. Chelsea Gray (CBK Mersin Yenisehir Bld) 5%
7. Marine Fauthoux (Basket Landes) 4%
8. Maria Conde (ZVVZ USK Praha) 4%


1. Emma Meesseman (Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding) 16%
2. Breanna Stewart (Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding) 15%
3. Satou Sabally (Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding) 12%
4. Raquel Carrera (Valencia Basket Club) 7%
5. Mariella Fasoula (Perfumerias Avenida) 4%
6. Iliana Rupert (Virtus Segafredo Bologna) 3%
7. Marie Guelich (Valencia Basket Club) 3%
8. Rebekah Gardner (Spar Girona) 3%


1. Breanna Stwart (Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding) 24%
2. Emma Meesseman (Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding) 16%
3. Alina Iagupova (Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding)12%
4. Mariella Fasoula (Perfumerias Avenida) 11%
5. Yvonne Anderson (Tango Bourges Basket) 7%

Defensive Player of the Year

1. Alina Iagupova (Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding) 39%
2. Maite Cazorla (Perfumerias Avenida) 13%
3. Laetitia Guapo (Tango Bourges Basket) 9%
4. Leticia Romero (Valencia Basket Club) 9%
5. Elizabeth Williams (CBK Mersin Yenisehir Bld) 6%

Young Player of the Year

1. Elena Buenavida (Valencia Basket Club) 38%
2. Pauline Astier (Tango Bourges Basket) 27%
3. Julia Boros (Atomeromu KSC Szekszard) 12%
4. Melinda Miklos (Atomeromu KSC Szekszard) 10%
5. Sara Roumy (Basket Landes) 7%

Coach of the Year

1. Marina Maljkovic (Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding) 43%
2. Ruben Burgos (Valencia Basket Club) 13%
3. Pepe Vazquez (Perfumerias Avenida) 9%
4. Olivier Lafargue (Tango Bourges Basket) 8%
5. Roberto Iniguez(CBK Mersin Yenisehir Bld) 6%