11 October, 2022
16 April, 2023
Press Release
to read

Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding crowned EuroLeague Women champions

PRAGUE (Czech Republic) - The new EuroLeague Women champions were crowned in Prague, with Fenerbahce Alagoz Holding securing the club's first-ever piece of international silverware on Sunday.

The Istanbul club made history by defeating CBK Mersin Yenisehir Bld 99-60 in the all-Turkish title-decider at the Kralovka Arena in Prague, which saw them end a spell of four previous Final defeats.

Having also reached this stage of the competition in 2013, 2014, 2017 and 2022, Fenerbahce became the second club from Turkey to lift the prestigious trophy after their cross-town rivals Galatasaray went all the way in 2014.

After carrying Fenerbahce in the Semi-Finals, Breanna Stewart also played a leading role in the title-decider with 35 points, 6 rebounds, 3 assists and 2 steals to be named Final Four MVP.

For Fenerbahce, who finished the season on a 16-game winning streak after losing the first two games of the season, it was the third consecutive Final Four and ninth in total.

Meanwhile, Final Four newcomers CBK Mersin Yenisehir Bld were only the third Turkish team ever to reach the Final of the competition.

Earlier in the day, Beretta Famila Schio marked their first-ever Final Four appearance with a podium finish, as they topped the hosts ZVVZ USK Praha 59-56 in the Third-Place Game.


About EuroLeague Women
EuroLeague Women is the premier women's basketball competition in Europe, featuring the top 16 teams from the continent and the world's best players.

For further information about EuroLeague Women, visit EuroLeagueWomen.basketball or follow us on facebook.com/EuroLeagueWomentwitter.com/EuroLeagueWomeninstagram.com/EuroLeagueWomen, and youtube.com/FIBA.