25 September, 2019
19 April, 2020
First returns released in EuroLeague Women awards voting
to read

First returns released in EuroLeague Women Awards voting

MUNICH (Germany) - The race to gain recognition in the EuroLeague Women Awards continues to heat up after confirmation of the first returns in the fan voting, with Alina Iagupova, Cecilia Zandalasini and Sandrine Gruda leading the Team of the Season ballot.

Fenerbahce Oznur Kablo backcourt partners Iagpuova and Zandalasini are the top overall vote-getters with 2,536 and 2,278 votes respectively, while Famila Schio's center Gruda is first among frontcourt players with 2,074 votes.

The top players and coaches are due to be recognized for their exceptional performances during the Regular Season, with fans from all over the world, EuroLeague Women coaches and selected media deciding the voters.

During the initial stage, supporters have been voting for the All-Euroleague 1st and 2nd Teams, Coach of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year selections.

Respecting the efforts of the players and coaches put in during the 2019-20 season, the EuroLeague Women Awards will proceed despite the indefinite suspension of the competition due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Due to the exceptional circumstances,  the awards honoring the top performers of the Regular Season are now set to be presented digitally. 

The fan voting has also been extended to Sunday, April 12. 

In all of the categories, the current state of play after the unveiling of the first returns shows that every single vote will count in the coming weeks. Much could still change and it looks set to be an exciting conclusion to the first-ever EuroLeague Women Awards.

Team of the Season


1. Alina Iagupova (Fenerbahce Oznur Kablo) 2,536
2. Cecilia Zandalasini (Fenerbahce Oznur Kablo) 2,278
3. Marine Johannes (LDLC ASVEL Feminin) 1,898
4. Julie Allemand (LDLC ASVEL Feminin) 1,712
5. Cristina Ouvina (ZVVZ USK Praha) 1,031
6. Courtney Vandersloor (UMMC Ekaterinburg) 900
7. Magali Mendy (Spar Citylift Girona) 432
8. Barbora Balintova (Arka Gdynia) 426
9. Yvonne Tuner (Nadezhda) 334
10. Epiphanny Prince (Dynamo Kursk) 261


1. Sandrine Gruda (Famila Schio) 2,074
2. Elizabeth Williams (Fenerbahce Oznur Kablo) 1,993
3. Emma Meesseman (UMMC Ekaterinburg) 1,843
4. Alexia Chartereau (Bourges Basket) 1,806
5. Brittney Griner (UMMC Ekaterinburg) 1,777
6. Gabby Williams (BLMA) 1,261
7. Stephanie Mavunga (BLMA) 1,237
8. Alyssa Thomas (ZVVZ USK Praha) 1,180
9. Maria Vadeeva (UMMC Ekaterinburg) 787
10. DeWanna Bonner (Dynamo Kursk) 745
11. Celeste Trahan-Davis (Castors Braine) 710
12. Brionna Jones (ZVVZ USK Praha) 673
13. Jelena Brooks (Sopron Basket) 663
14. Gintare Petronyte (Reyer Venezia) 495
15. Naignouma Coulibaly (Spar Citylift Girona) 468

Coach of the Year

1. Victor Lapena (Fenerbahce Oznur Kablo) 2,126
2. Valery Demory (LDLC ASVEL Feminin) 887
3. Olivier Lafargue (Bourges Basket) 754
4. Natalia Hejkova (ZVVZ USK Praha) 752
5. Thibaut Petit (BLMA) 644
6. Miguel Mendez (UMMC Ekaterinburg) 473
7. Pierre Vincent (Famila Schio) 155
8. Georgios Dikaioulakos (Nadezhda) 113

Defensive Player of the Year

1. Elizabeth Williams (Fenerbahce Oznur Kablo) 1,894
2. Sarah Michel (Bourges Basket) 1,263
3. Brittney Griner (UMMC EKaterinburg) 791
4. Cristina Ouvina (ZVVZ USK Praha) 567
5. Gabby Williams (BLMA) 479
6. Stephanie Mavunga (BLMA) 433
7. Alyssa Thomas (ZVVZ USK Praha) 348
8. Erica Wheeler (Nadezhda) 129

Young Player of the Year

1. Iliana Rupert (Bourges Basket) 2,094
2. Goksen Fitik (Gelecek Koleji Cukurova) 1,727
3. Veronika Vorackova (ZVVZ USK Praha) 716
4. Maxuella Lisowa-Mbaka (Castors Braine) 671
5. Laura Meldere (Reyer Venezia) 375
6. Vanesa Jasa (TTT Riga) 321