26 September, 2017
22 April, 2018
4 Olga Arteshina | Photo: Elio Castoria
Press Release
to read

UMMC Ekaterinburg crowned 2018 champions

SOPRON (EuroLeague Women Final Four) – Led by Final Four MVP Emma Meesseman, UMMC Ekaterinburg have captured their fourth EuroLeague Women title.

Taking on hosts and first-time finalists, Sopron Basket, UMMC Ekaterinburg showed their full might to claim the 72-53 victory in front of a sold-out Novomatic Arena.

Meesseman set the tone for the Russian club, scoring a quick-fire 10 points to begin proceedings, before nailing a long three to beat the half-time buzzer and send her team into the locker room, leading 42-30.

Sopron, who surprised many just to make the Final, refused to give up the fight in front of their deafening hometown support. But the depth and star power of UMMC Ekaterinburg assured they had an answer for everything thrown at them by the Hungarian underdogs to maintain a comfortable buffer through the second half.

Earlier in the evening, 2017 champions Dynamo Kursk bounced back from having their 34-game winning streak in EuroLeague Women snapped by UMMC Ekaterinburg in Friday's Semi-Finals, defeating a short-handed Yakin Dogu Universitesi 87-82. The Turkish club were forced to play without veteran center Ann Wauters and 2017/18 EuroLeague Women assist leader Courtney Vandersloot, both of whom looked on injured.


About EuroLeague Women
EuroLeague Women is the premier women's basketball competition in Europe, featuring the top 16 teams from the continent and the world’s best players.

For further information about EuroLeague Women, visit fiba.basketball/EuroLeagueWomen or follow us on facebook.com/EuroLeagueWomen, twitter.com/EuroLeagueWomen, instagram.com/EuroLeagueWomen, and youtube.com/FIBA.