01 - 18
September 2022
to read

FIBA EuroBasket 2022 co-hosts hand over duties to Cyprus, Finland, Poland and Latvia

BERLIN (Germany) - The co-hosts of the FIBA EuroBasket 2022 passed the torch to the organizers of the 2025 edition of the competition, which will be held in Cyprus, Finland, Poland and Latvia, in an official handover ceremony.

The symbolic ceremony took place on Sunday during the halftime of the Third Place Game between Germany and Poland, with the 2022 hosts passing their duties to their successors.

Poland was confirmed as the fourth host of the 42nd edition of FIBA EuroBasket by the FIBA Europe Board on Saturday, while the other three organizers were approved by the Board earlier.

FIBA Europe President Turgay Demirel and FIBA Executive Director Europe Kamil Novak also took part in the handover ceremony.

Andreas Mouzourides, President of the Cypriot Basketball Federation; Timo Elo, Basketball Finland President; Raimonds Vejonis, President of the Latvian Basketball Association; and Radosław Piesiewicz, President of the Polish Basketball Federation all represented the 2025 organizers.

Meanwhile, Michal Konecny, Secretary General of the Czech Basketball Federation; George Kartvelishvili, Georgian Basketball Federation Secretary General and Wolfgang Brenscheidt, German Basketball Federation Secretary General served as representatives for the current hosts.

The 42nd edition of the FIBA EuroBasket will be the fourth to implement the multi-hosting format since it was introduced in 2015.

The Group Phase of the event will be played in Cyprus, Finland, Poland and Latvia, with FIBA EuroBasket 2025 set to conclude with the Final Phase in the Latvian capital Riga.