02 - 19
August 2017

Competition System

Under FIBA's New Competition System and Calendar which comes into effect in 2017, 32 European countries will take up the challenge to be among the 12 teams from the region that will qualify to play at the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 in China. The 32 teams will consist of the 24 national sides competing at FIBA EuroBasket 2017, as well as 8 of the 13 teams that have registered to play in the Pre-Qualifiers.

During the European Pre-Qualifiers, the 13 teams will play all other teams in their group on a home-and-away basis with all games being played on Wednesdays and Saturdays between 2 and 19 August 2017. 

Following the six days of action, the top two teams from each group will earn their spot in the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 Qualifiers, with the first window taking place from 20-28 November 2017.

Click on image to enlarge

Download Europe Qualifiers brochure here.