10 December, 2021
10 April, 2022
BCL Americas announces the Lineup for season 3
to read

BCL Americas announces Season 3 lineup

MIAMI (USA) – The Board of BCL Americas (BCLA) has defined and approved key resolutions for the upcoming Season 3 of BCLA.

Considering the current COVID pandemic situation, in particular in South America, the BCLA Board has decided for the league to play in a bubble format where each of the twelve (12) teams will have a chance to host in the group stage. Furthermore, the Board also moved the original tip-off of Season 3 from October/2021 to December/2021. The league will last five (5) months with Final 8 scheduled to play in April 2022.

Seven (7) countries across the Americas will be represented through 12 teams: Quimsa, Boca Jrs and Obras from Argentina, São Paulo, Minas, and returning champion Flamengo from Brazil, Bigua, and Nacional from Uruguay, UdeC from Chile, Cangrejeros from Puerto Rico, season 2 runner-up Real Estelí from Nicaragua, and the Edmonton Stingers from Canada.

Season 3 will consist of 36 games, at group stages, and 8 games at FINAL 8, a total of 44 games. The Final 8 will be played as a single-elimination quarterfinal and semifinal rounds with the winners advancing to the Championship game and the losers will play for 3rd place. The clubs will be divided into 4 groups of 3 clubs with the 1st and 2nd ranked clubs from each group advancing to the Final 8. An official draw will take place in the first week of October 2021 to determine the groups and the full calendar for Season 3. The day and time for the draw will be announced in the upcoming days.

The BCL Americas Champion will earn a spot into the 2023 FIBA Intercontinental Cup. C.R. Flamengo, current champion of BCL Americas season 2 (2021) will play in the 2022 FIBA Intercontinental Cup.