20 November, 2017
26 February, 2019
55 Leonard Mekaj (KOS), 35 Fisnik Rugova (KOS), 11 Dardan Berisha (KOS), 8 Alban Veseli (KOS), Kosovo Celebration
Press Release
to read

Eight remaining spots for FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 European Qualifiers filled

MUNICH (FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 European Qualifiers) - The eight remaining countries that will play in the 32-team FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 European Qualifiers, were confirmed on Saturday evening. 

Going into the sixth and final night of the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 European Pre-Qualifiers, which were open to all European Federations that did not qualify for this month's FIBA EuroBasket, there were still three of eight tickets to the Qualifiers remaining.

They were snapped up by Bosnia and Herzegovina, who defeated Armenia in a direct head-to-head battle for the remaining Group A ticket; Belarus, who despite losing in overtime to Portugal, advanced ahead of their opponents, thanks to a superior points differential across the two games in which they played each other; and Kosovo, who defeated Estonia for the final spot.

The eight teams are:

  • Austria
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Estonia
  • Kosovo
  • Netherlands
  • Sweden

The FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 European Qualifiers will be played out across six windows, beginning on November 23, and concluding on February 25, 2019, with the top 12 European teams advancing to the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019, in China.

The eight teams from the Pre-Qualifiers will learn in which of the already-drawn groups they will play in, via a Draw, which will take place in Munich on Thursday, August 24, at 11:30am (CET). The Draw will be streamed live on YouTube.com/FIBA.

On account of finishing first in their respective Groups, Bulgaria, Estonia, Netherlands and Sweden earn a higher ranking and will be drawn into Groups B, D, F or H; whilst Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo* will each be drawn into one of the four remaining groups.

*Kosovo can not be drawn into Group G, which contains Serbia.


About FIBA
FIBA (fiba.basketball) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 213 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognised as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

For further information about FIBA, visit fiba.basketball or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fibatwitter.com/fibainstagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.