12 - 24
July 2022
Press Release
to read

FIBA Asia Cup 2021 field set

JAKARTA (Indonesia) - The 16-team field for the FIBA Asia Cup 2021 has been confirmed following the conclusion of the Qualifiers on Saturday, with the final ticket claimed in the Qualifying Tournament for third-ranked teams in Mangilao.

With 15 of the 16 spots in the 30th edition of the region's flagship basketball event formalized earlier, Chinese Taipei were the last ones to stamp their participation to complete the list. 

They joined 15 teams - Australia, Bahrain, China, Iran, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Lebanon, New Zealand, Philippines, Syria, Saudi Arabia, and India - that secured qualification earlier and the host of Asia Cup 2021, Indonesia.

The FIBA Asia Cup is scheduled to take place in July 2022 with 3 teams making a return to the region’s premier competition following a lengthy draught of appearances.

Bahrain were among one of the first to confirm Asia Cup qualification in November 2020, placing them in the Asia Cup playing field for the first time since 2013. Saudi Arabia’s last appearance in the Asia Cup was also back in 2013 and they will be making a return as well after topping the Qualifying Tournament in Jeddah.

Indonesia will playing in their first Asia Cup in a decade since 2011 when they host the competition later next year.

Australia will be making their second straight appearance in the Asia Cup as well, ready to defend their title which they claimed over Iran in 2017.

This will be only the second time that the Asia Cup is hosted in Indonesia, the last being in 1993.

The date and venue of the FIBA Asia Cup 2021 draw will be announced at a later stage.