Follow FIBA on Facebook

17 February, 2020
28 August, 2021
Press Release
to read

The first-ever FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers tips-off in 100 days

 BEIRUT (Lebanon) - The countdown has begun for the much-anticipated FIBA Asia Cup 2021 Qualifiers which are due to tip off in 100 days.

Twenty Four teams that have been drawn into six groups will be playing in a double-round robin format across three windows. Teams will get the chance to play in a home-and-away format which will give fans the opportunity to see their nation compete on home soil.


The Windows

The first window of the FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers will be from February 17-25, 2020 with the game days within the window being on February 20-21 and 23-24.

The second window will continue to be played from November 23, 2020, to December 1, 2020. The game days in the second windows are to be on November 26-27 and 29-30.

The concluding window of the FIBA Asia Cup 2021 Qualifiers will be from February 15-23, 2021 where the game days will be on February 18-19 and 21-22.

A total of 72 games will be played across three windows.

How to Qualify

At the end of the Qualifiers, the top two teams in each group will immediately advance to the FIBA Asia Cup 2021. From there, all six third-placed teams from each group will then play in a separate Qualifying tournament to determine the last four teams that will complete the 16-team roster of the FIBA Asia Cup 2021.


The upcoming Continental Cup qualifiers will be the first time that teams will have to play qualification games to participate in the FIBA Asia Cup, Asia's premier national team competition.

Who has the most gold?

The defending champions of the FIBA Asia Cup is Australia, who made their first-ever appearance in the competition in 2017. They were able to defeat three-time winners Iran in the Final. China currently has the most gold medals in the history of the FIBA Asia Cup with 16 in total.

View this post on Instagram

This is how the #FIBAAsiaCup 2021 Qualifiers Groups are looking!! - See you in November!!

A post shared by FIBA Asia Cup | Basketball (@fibaasiacup) on



Group A: Philippines, Korea, Indonesia, Thailand
Group B: China, Japan, Chinese Taipei, Malaysia
Group C: Australia, New Zealand, Guam, Hong Kong
Group D: Lebanon, India, Iraq, Bahrain
Group E: Iran, Qatar, Syria, Saudi Arabia
Group F: Jordan, Kazakhstan, Palestine, Sri Lanka

Follow @fibaasiacup on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter for more.