20 February, 2023
30 June
to read

Cameroon qualify for the 2023 AfroCan


YAOUNDE (Cameroon) - Cameroon on Saturday became the latest team to qualify for this year's FIBA AfroCan after ruthlessly beating Equatorial Guinea.

Here's what happened on the last day of Zone 4 qualifiers for the 2023 AfroCan:


The Central Africa Republic (CAF) brought it's A-game to upstage hard fighting Chad by 68-64 points in the closing day of the Zone 4 AfroCAN qualifiers at Palais Polyvalent des Sports, Yaounde.

Chad took one point lead going into the half-time (34-33), also extended the lead by 5-point at the close of the third period but a resurgence Central African side was propelled by Morel Lenguewane who landed a double double, 17 points and 10 rebounds was all they needed to push back the Chadian who were looking to finish in third position of the 5-nation qualifiers.

Lenguewane was not alone in business of ensuring that their return home with some respect which they achieved in the deciding quarter with a 25-15 to edge Chad to fourth place.

Other Central African players who contributed to their side nail biting victory includes Melton Nambai - 11 points and 5 rebounds, Elie Narcisse Dondon - 11 points and 2 rebounds and Dann Baigo-Dari with 10 points, 4 rebounds 2 assists and 4 steals.


The Lions were simply on rampage on the night as they ring round hapless Equatorial Guinea who ended the campaign without a win.

Cameroon took all four quarters - 18-7, 28-14, 25-9, 31-8 for a final score-line of 102-38 points.

Cameroon youthful forward led the way with a double double of 25 points, 11 rebounds, 2 assists and 2 steals with efficiency rating of 26.

The Lions inspirational shooting guard, Etienne Tametong Kalume also had 25 points, 5 rebounds, 2 assists and 2 steals, Engelbert Beleck contributed 19 points, 3 rebounds and 4 assists while the duo of Cyrille Frank Keumoe and Jean Paul Njiki added 11 points each.

With the huge win Saturday night over the Equatorial Guinean Cameroon now join five other qualified teams for this year edition.

Qualified teams so far include: Democratic Republic of Congo, who won the inaugural season in 2019, runners-up Kenya, third-placed side Angola, Morocco who finished fourth, and Mozambique who booked their place from Zone 6 qualifiers.