20 February, 2023
03 July

How to qualify

How to qualify

The FIBA AfroCan is a new competition of national teams for players on the African continent.

The first edition took place in 2019 in Mali and saw the Democratic Republic of Congo crowned champion of this competition that will take place each 4 years.

The following teams have qualified for the second edition of FIBA AfroCan thanks to their participation in the semi-finals of the previous edition held in Bamako (Mali): Democratic Republic of Congo (champion), Kenya (finalist), Angola (3rd) and Morocco (4th place).


- From February 20 to 28, 2023: Zimbabwe - Zone 6 qualifiers

- From March 19 to 25, 2023: Cameroon - Zone 4 qualifiers

The qualifiers will start from February 20, 2023 and the final phase of this second edition will take place from 7 to 16 July 2023 and the host country has not yet been determined.

Event Timeline

  • 20 Feb 23 Zone 6 Qualifiers
  • 20 Mar 23 Zone 4 Qualifiers
  • 17 Jun 23 Zone 5 Qualifiers