14 January, 2020
24 October

Competition System

Seven zones will play Pre-Qualifiers in five groups in January 2020 across the continent with the five winners progressing to the next stage of the qualification process.

The Second Phase of Qualifiers will see the five winners of each group progress to join the 15 teams that took part in the FIBA AfroBasket 2017 in Tunisia.

These 15 teams that have automatically made it to this stage include Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Cote d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Guinea, Mali, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Tunisia and Uganda.

They will make a total of 20 teams that will be divided into five groups of four. In each group, the teams will play two tournaments that will take place in three international windows.

Three groups will play from February 17-25, 2020 with the other two starting their campaign in the next window from November 23 - December 1, 2020 at venues yet to be determined.

All the five groups will then play in the Final Phase from February 15-23, 2021 with the top three teams from each group over the two legs qualifying automatically to the FIBA AfroBasket 2021 to be held in Rwanda.