08 - 16
September 2017
13 Olaseni  LAWAL (Nigeria); 9 Chamberlain OGUCHI (Nigeria)
Press Release
to read

FIBA AfroBasket 2017 field set

ABIDJAN, Cote d'Ivoire (FIBA AfroBasket 2017) - The field for FIBA AfroBasket 2017 is set following the conclusion of an Additional Qualifier on Sunday night that saw the Central African Republic (CAF) beat Chad 67-64 in the Malian city of Bamako to claim the last qualifying spot.

As a result, all 16 teams set to compete in FIBA Africa's flagship event this summer are known. They are: Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic (CAF), Cote d’Ivoire, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Guinea, Mali, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tunisia and Uganda.

As well as ensuring their participation in FIBA AfroBasket 2017, the Central Africans also secured a place in the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 African Qualifiers, which get underway in November.

The Additional Qualifier occured in order to find the replacement of the Republic of Congo, who were removed from FIBA AfroBasket 2017 after pulling out from hosting and organizing the competition.

FIBA Africa has since selected Angola as the new host country of the continental showpiece.

About FIBA
FIBA (fiba.com) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 213 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognised as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

For further information about FIBA, visit fiba.com or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fiba, twitter.com/fiba, instagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.