08 - 16
September 2017
7 Mourad El Mabrouk (TUN), 1 Ikenna Iroegbu (NGR), 6 Ike Diogu (NGR), 9 Mohamed Hadidane (TUN)
to read

Dieng and Diogu headline All-Star Five at FIBA AfroBasket 2017

TUNIS (FIBA AfroBasket 2017) – Senegal ace Gorgui Dieng was huge throughout the FIBA AfroBasket 2017, and it came as no surprise that he was named on the All-Tournament team.

Although Nigerian Ike Diogu was awarded the MVP Award offered by Tissot as he was the tournament’s leading scorer with averages of 22 points per game, the Senegalese power forward emerged as one of the top performers, finishing with 14.2 points, 6.8 rebounds per game. 

He was joined by Diogu, Nigerian guard Ikenna Iroegbu and Tunisian duo of Mourad El Mabrouk and Mohamed Hadidane.

With the Tunisian victory, both El Mabrouk and Hadidane became two-time FIBA AfroBasket champions as they helped Tunisia claim their first-ever continental trophy in 2011 in Madagascar.