16 October, 2019
22 December

Competition System

Thirty two (32 ) clubs across Africa will participate in the Qualifying Tournaments for the Basketball Africa League 2020. The first round of Qualifying Tournaments will run from October 15 to November 3. Teams will be divided into six groups with the top two of each group, in total 12 teams, advancing to the next round. An additional four teams will be invited to complete in the "Elite 16" , the second round of Qualifying Tournaments.
Five cities including Bamako (MLI), Cotonou (Benin), Libreville (GAB), Dar es Salaam (TAN) and Antananarivo (MAD) have been confirmed as hosts of the Qualifying Tournaments for the Elite 16.
Another city will be determined at a later date.
The top six placed teams from the Elite 16 will then join champions from Angola, Egypt, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal and Tunisia to complete the Basketball Africa League (BAL) 2020 regular season lineup of 12 teams.