30 December, 2021
01 January, 2022

Competition Format

The FIBA 3x3 U23 Nations League 2021 features a record 26 different national federations and 5 different conferences:

Africa-Asia: Algeria, Egypt, Mongolia, Nigeria
Europe-America: Spain, France, Great Britain, Israel, Netherlands, USA
Europe 1: Austria, Germany, Hungary, Poland, Russia, Slovakia,
Europe 2: Belarus, Greece, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Ukraine.

Also, a new U21 category was introduced this year to help federations develop new players for future events:

U21 Conference: Lithuania, Netherlands, Germany, Israel, Mongolia, Czech Republic

Each conference has one-day events, following a standardized format: 

The participating teams are divided into two pools both in the men's and women's category. The winners of each pool advance to the final. The pool standings and final standings are calculated according to the FIBA 3x3 rules of the game. If teams are tied, then the following criteria are taken into account:

In case teams are tied, the tie-breakers are as follows:

  1. Most wins (or win ratio in case of unequal number of games in inter-pool comparison);
  2. Head-to-head confrontation (only taking win/loss into account and applies within a pool only);
  3. Most points scored in average (without considering winning scores of forfeits).

If teams are still tied after those three steps, the one(s) with the highest seeding win(s) the tie-breaker.

Teams earn tour standing points after each event; the best-ranked teams (men and women) in the standings at the end of the 6th event are declared the winners of their conference.