Follow FIBA on Facebook

06 - 13
August 2017
Official Draw of the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup set for Wednesday
to read

Official Draw of FIBA Women’s AmeriCup 2017 set for Wednesday

SAN JUAN (FIBA Women's AmeriCup 2017) - The International Basketball Federation in the Americas announced that the Official Draw for the FIBA Women's AmeriCup 2017 will take place on Wednesday, July 19 in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

The draw will be staged in the FIBA Americas Regional Office at 11:00 (GMT-4), and be broadcast live on FIBA's YouTube Channel.

The FIBA Women's AmeriCup 2017 will take place from August 6-13 in Buenos Aires, Argentina and feature the national teams from Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Cuba, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Paraguay, Virgin Islands and Venezuela.

During the draw, the participating teams will be divided in two (2) groups of five (5) teams on each.

The pairs for the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup:
POT 1: Canada - Brazil
POT 2: Puerto Rico - Venezuela
POT 3: Mexico - Colombia
POT 4: Paraguay - Virgin Islands
POT 5: Cuba - Argentina

The competition will consist of two phases. In the Group Phase, the ten (10) participating teams will be divided into two (2) groups of five (5) teams. Teams will play in a round-robin format for four days. The best two teams from each group will advance to the Final Phase, with the first place team from Group A playing against the second place team from Group B and vice-versa. The winners of the Semi-Finals will advance to the Final, while the losers will play in the Third-Place Game.

The top three teams from the FIBA Women's AmeriCup 2017 will qualify for the FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup 2018 in Spain.