26 June, 2023
02 July
to read

All-female crew of officials takes center stage in Sydney at Women's Asia Cup

SYDNEY (Australia) - While some of the best talents in women’s basketball were on the court and playing their hearts out at the FIBA Women’s Asia Cup 2023, a crew of officials comprised only of women officiated the game. 

In the game played between Lebanon and Chinese Taipei, the game was officiated by Crew Chief Ms Ji Youn Lee, with Umpires Ms Jacquiline Dover and Ms Yana Nikogossyan. The referee team will be supported by Standby Referee Ms Yijing Yu, Technical Delegate Ms Trianti Trianti, Referee Instructor Ms Debbie Keirs, Video Operator Ms Sarah Cherry and Instant Reply System (IRS) Operator Ms Calia Hanks.

The memorable occasion demonstrates FIBA’s commitment to growing and promoting the role of female officials in the sport. 

"Seeing an all-female officiating crew is a testament to the initiatives being conducted under FIBA's Women in Basketball strategic pillar," said FIBA Regional Office - Oceania Executive Director, Amanda Jenkins.

"It has been fantastic to see over 30% of female officials here at this event, and we look forward to continuing to grow this number in years to come as the Women in Basketball pillar continues to grow."

"As a continued example of FIBA’s commitment to female officials, all three on-court officials and the standby referee will also officiate at the FIBA U19 Women’s Basketball World Cup in Spain in July, and this competition provides an excellent opportunity for them to hone their skills prior to this event.”

Women in Basketball is one of FIBA's Strategic Priorities for the working cycle of 2019 to 2023, with an aim to increase the role of females at all levels of the sport - both on and off the court. The numerous initiatives and efforts being implemented currently were on display during this game at the Women’s Asia Cup 2023 in Sydney, Australia, and have been continuously done from other competitions such as the U16 Women’s Asian Championship and Women’s Basketball World Cup last year.