11 - 19
June 2021
to read

Stage set for FIBA Women's AmeriCup 2021 Draw

MIAMI (USA) - The stage is set for the FIBA Women's AmeriCup 2021 draw, which will take place on Saturday, 22nd of May in San Juan Puerto Rico at 14:00 EST and will be broadcasted live on FIBA's Official YouTube Channel.

The FIBA Women's AmeriCup will feature these ten teams from the three continental sub-regions.

Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, and Venezuela qualified for the FIBA Women's AmeriCup 2021, as they were the best ranked teams in the sub-zone according to the FIBA Women's World Rankings by NIKE. Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, Dominican Republic, and El Salvador qualified from the Centrobasket Women's Championship in March. With the United States and Canada also joining the competition representing North America. The competition will be played from the 11th to the 19th of June 2021, in Puerto Rico.

The draw will begin by selecting one team from the first pot, which will be slotted into Group A, while the remaining team from the pot will be automatically allocated into Group B, followed by a number draw from the last pot, which will define the order of the games. As per the draw principles, the only constraint is that each Group can only include a maximum of three teams from the same Sub-Zone.

The ten participating teams will be divided into two groups, A and B, with five teams each and will play one game with each opponent in their group. At the end of the Group Phase, the teams placed 1st to 4th in each group shall advance to the Quarterfinals, while the two teams placed 5th in each group will participate in the FIBA Women's AmeriCup 2023 Qualifiers.

The FIBA Women’s AmeriCup 2021 will be the 16th edition of the most elite Women's competition in the Americas. The top four finishing teams will advance to compete in one of four FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup 2022 Qualifying Tournaments.