18 - 24
August 2019
to read

Everything you need to know about the FIBA U17 Oceania Championship

Noumea (New Caledonia) - 16 teams, 8 countries will compete in the upcoming FIBA U17 Oceania Championship.

Check out all the things you need to know before the competition starts on August 18.

Participating teams:

Host New Caledonia will welcome seven other nations both bringing their Men's and Women's teams for a two, 8-team tournament featuring Australia, Cook Islands, Guam, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, and Tahiti.

Competition Format:

The teams will be pooled together in two groups for the Men's and Women's respective divisions. A round-robin group phase will be followed by the Knockout round. For more information about the format check it out here.

When and Where will the tournament take place:

The main venue of the games will be at the Arena de Sud in Paita, New Caledonia. The competition will kick off on 18 August until 24 August 2019.

What's at stake:

The top two teams of each division will qualify to the FIBA U18 Asian Championship which will serve as the official qualifier to the 2021 FIBA U19 World Cup.


Australia took a double-gold medal finish in the first iteration of the FIBA U17 Oceania Championship held at Guam in 2017.

Which teams will qualify to the next step of the highly competitive and exciting youth basketball competition? Watch the region's finest battle it out for pride and glory.