01 October, 2019
29 April, 2020
9 Tylor Ongwae (BEAR)
to read

15 teams enter FIBA Europe Cup Regular Season from Basketball Champions League

MUNICH (Germany) - The field for the 2019-20 FIBA Europe Cup Regular Season is almost complete after 15 teams joined the competition from the Basketball Champions League.

Having fallen short in either the First or Second Qualifying Rounds in Basketball Champions League action, those teams now head directly into the Group Phase of the FIBA Europe Cup.

Inter Bratislava (SVK), Keravnos (CYP), Kapfenberg Bulls (AUT), Sigal Prishtina (KOS), Fribourg Olympic (SUI), CSM CSU Oradea (ROU), Bakken Bears (DEN), BC Balkan (BUL), Sodertalje (SWE) and Tsmoki-Minsk (BLR) all won their national titles last season and arrive in the competition looking for more success.

SL Benfica (POR), Ventspils (LAT), BC Kyiv Basket (UKR), Donar Groningen (NED) and Legia Warsaw (POL) make up the rest of the 15 reserved spots from the Basketball Champions League.

As a result, this means there will be no 'lucky loser' places available from the FIBA Europe Cup Qualifiers with the winners of the five ties - played over two legs - completing the 32-team field for the Regular Season.

FIBA Europe Cup Qualifiers:
Beroe v ZZ Leiden
Boras Basket v Pinar Karsiyaka
University of Tartu v Kataja
Borisfen v BC Dnipro
KB Rahoveci v U-BT Cluj Napoca

12 teams gained direct entry into the Regular Season with the draw for the Group Phase conducted in July. More information here.