19 September, 2017
02 May, 2018
to read

Seven in a row for Oostende, coach Gjergja in Belgium

OOSTENDE (EuroMillions Basketball League) - There was no match for Oostende in the EuroMillions Basketball League once again, with the Dario Gjergja-coached side lifting the Belgian championship title for the seventh season in a row, having defeated Telenet Giants Antwerp in the Finals.

Oostende finished a 3-0 sweep with a 78-67 win against their challengers from Antwerp at the Versluys Dome on Wednesday, claiming the domestic throne for the 19th time in the club's history.

Tonye Jekiri  received the Finals MVP honors after putting up a double-double of 17 points and 11 rebounds in Game 3, which brought his numbers for the entire series to 12.3 points and 8.0 rebounds per game.

Mike Myers and Elias Lasisi were  the only other double-digit scorers for Oostende in Game 3 and  had 10 points apiece, while Ismael Bako and Jason Clark shared a Giants team-high of 14 points on the other end.

This is the first time that a team has been able to retain the Belgian title for seven consecutive seasons. A number of historic teams came close, but none of them saw their run extend past six championships in a row.

A 21-game winning streak to start the Regular Season allowed Oostende to secure pole position well before the Play-Offs and their dominance carried over to the post-season.

After defeating Basic-Fit Brussels 2-0 in the Quarter-Finals, coach Gjergja and his team swept Okapi Aalstar in the Semi-Finals before finishing their undefeated Play-Off run with three wins on the trot over Telenet Giants Antwerp.