11 October, 2016
16 April, 2017
Press Release
to read

EuroLeague Women Final Four field confirmed

MUNICH (EuroLeague Women) – The 2017 EuroLeague Women Final Four field has been set, with already-qualified UMMC Ekaterinburg and Dynamo Kursk being joined by ZVVZ USK Prague and Fenerbahce Istanbul following the conclusion of the Quarter-Finals on Wednesday.

Defending champions UMMC Ekaterinburg and major Russian domestic rivals Dynamo Kursk had already locked up their tickets to the Final Four on Friday evening, each only needing two games to wrap up their best-of-three series against Famila Schio and Tango Bourges Basket respectively.

However, for 2015 champions ZVVZ USK Prague, and Turkish powerhouse Fenerbahce, a third and deciding game was required.

Despite facing a partisan crowd traveling away to 2016 finalists Nadezhda, ZVVZ USK Prague overcame a sluggish start to prevail 70-57 and confirm their participation in the Semi-Finals for a third consecutive year.

Rounding out the Final Four field are Fenerbahce who prevailed 87-80 over visiting Perfumerias Avenida to reach the last four of the competition for the sixth time in a row.

In the Final Four Semi-Finals, Dynamo Kursk will play ZVVZ USK Prague, whilst Fenerbahce take on UMMC Ekaterinburg.

The Semi-Finals will be played on April 14, with the Third-Place Game and Final scheduled for April 16.

An announcement will be made later in March in regards to which of the four contestants will host the Final Four.

About FIBA
FIBA (fiba.com) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 213 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognised as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).
For further information about FIBA visit fiba.com or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fibatwitter.com/fiba,  instagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.