09 October, 2018
14 April, 2019
Press Release
to read

UMMC Ekaterinburg defend crown to lift fifth EuroLeague Women title

SOPRON (Hungary) - Led by Final Four MVP Brittney Griner, UMMC Ekaterinburg have captured their fifth EuroLeague Women title and in the process, became the first club since 2010 to successfully defend their crown.

They outlasted domestic rivals Dynamo Kursk 91-67 in front of a packed Novomatic Arena in a contest that was decided mainly by some early work from UMMC and a remarkable showing at both ends of the floor from Griner.

Griner was named MVP after a stellar contribution of 16 points, 10 boards and 4 blocked shots. She just pipped Courtney Vandersloot who was impressive with an all-action 18 points, 8 rebounds and 7 assists.

No other team has won more than five titles in the modern era of the competition, while the result also confirmed Alba Torrens as the first Spanish player to win EuroLeague Women for a fifth time. She also won with Perfumerias Avenida (2011) and Galatasaray (2014) - as well as twice previously with UMMC in 2016 and 2018.

Earlier in the evening, ZVVZ USK Praha took third place with a 64-53 triumph against host club Sopron Basket, who endured the added disappointment of their successful head coach Roberto Iniguez confirming his departure.

The event was attended by FIBA Europe President Turgay Demirel, FIBA Secretary General Andreas Zagklis, FIBA Executive Director Europe Kamil Novak and other dignitaries.


About EuroLeague Women
EuroLeague Women is the premier women's basketball competition in Europe, featuring the top 16 teams from the continent and the world’s best players.

For further information about EuroLeague Women, visit the official website or follow us on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and YouTube.