31 August
17 September, 2016


The FIBA EuroBasket 2017 Draw Ceremony will take place in Istanbul on 22 November at 15.00 CET, with the Draw beginning at 16.00 CET. It will be streamed on YouTube.com/FIBA.

The Draw will see 24 teams being drawn into four groups of six teams each. The qualified teams are:

  • Finland, Israel, Romania, and Turkey as host countries
  • Croatia, France, Lithuania, Serbia, and Spain as Rio 2016 participants
  • Czech Republic, Greece, Italy, and Latvia as FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament participants
  • Belgium, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Poland, Russia, and Slovenia as winners of their respective FIBA EuroBasket 2017 Qualifiers groups
  • Great Britain, Iceland, Montenegro and Ukraine as the four best second-placed teams of the FIBA EuroBasket 2017 Qualifiers.

The seedings for the Draw are based on the Competition Regulations of FIBA Europe, taking into account the results of the participating nations in their last FIBA Europe competition(s).

The seedings are as follows:

Seed 1 Seed 2 Seed 3 Seed 4 Seed 5 Seed 6
Spain Greece Croatia Russia Germany Iceland
Lithuania Italy Israel Slovenia Belgium Great Britain
France Czech Republic Turkey Hungary Poland Ukraine
Serbia Latvia Finland Georgia Montenegro Romania

The host federations had the right to choose one partner federation, who will be automatically drawn into the same group. The partnerships bring together Finland and Iceland; Israel and Lithuania; Romania and Hungary; and Turkey and Russia.