31 August, 2019
15 September
Opening Ceremony - FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019
Press Release
to read

Final rosters confirmed for first-ever 32-team FIBA Basketball World Cup

BEIJING (China) - The stage is all set for the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 in China, with the rosters of all 32 national teams confirmed on the eve of the 18th edition of the showpiece event.

The flagship event returns to Asia for the first time since 2006, with eight host cities across China – Beijing, Shanghai, Nanjing, Wuhan, Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Foshan and Dongguan – ready for basketball action to tip off on August 31.

The curtain on the FIBA Basketball World Cup was officially lifted with an impressive opening ceremony at the Beijing National Aquatics Center in Beijing, with President of the People's Republic of China Xi Jinping in attendance, as well as President Rodrigo Duterte of the Philippines, five national level Chinese Leaders, FIBA President Horacio Muratore, the newly elected FIBA President for 2019-2023 Hamane Niang, FIBA Secretary General Andreas Zagklis, FIBA Executive Committee and Central Board Members, the delegates of the XXI FIBA Congress and representatives from the host cities.

The finalized 12-man rosters of the 32 national teams are below:

Having won the 2010 and 2014 editions of the FIBA Basketball World Cups, defending champions USA stand to become the first country to win the Naismith Trophy in three consecutive events.

The tournament in China will be the largest one to date, with the new 32-nation format vastly expanding the geography of the competition. In total, 80 national teams took part in the Qualifiers for the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019.

The basketball action on the court will begin with the opening fixture between Angola and Serbia in Foshan on August 31 and will finish with the champions crowned in Beijing on September 15.

While all teams will have their sights set on the new-look Naismith Trophy, there will be another significant source of motivation with seven Olympic berths up for grabs. The top two teams from Americas and Europe, as well as one top-ranked team each from Africa, Asia and Oceania will qualify for Tokyo 2020.


About FIBA

FIBA (fiba.basketball) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 213 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognized as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).
For further information about FIBA, visit fiba.basketball or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fiba, twitter.com/fibainstagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.